We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a Face Lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Time for a Face Lift”
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We attended a wedding just down the street to the hotel was very convenient. I had stayed in this hotel several years ago and found it to be quite charming. The dining areas and little bar in the hotel were great as were the other hotel amenities that you see should you just walk around the common areas. The wrinkles begin to appear as you walk into the elevator and there is a taped note telling you were to put your key to get to the executive level. Not very professional for a hotel of this class. The corridors of the hotel are badly in need of paint and lighting upgrades. Our room had a great location right next to the pool area with a little patio that opened onto the pool courtyard. That was the highlight of the room along with the great showerhead. it is all down hill from there! As with the halls, the room was in bad need of paint and touch up on the baseboards, closet and doors. Granted it is a very old hotel but these are necessities for a hotel that charges upwards of $300 per night. The curtains were filthy. The bathroom grout and caulking are not even that moldy in lower class apartments! I took pictures because I was so surprised! All of the furniture was period Charleston style which most of the hotels have but these pieces were practically falling apart! Considering the price we paid (it was discounted at $550 for two nights), one would consider fluffy bedding on a firm bed but the mattress was very old and saggy. Good pillows though! The service at the hotel was good and the employees courteous. i was just disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel. I did have a comment from the bellhop that they are "planning on" doing a 10 million dollar renovation. I am sure the rates will only go up to cover that!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Quality of the facility
  • Tips/Secrets — Wati for the renovation!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sfarmer1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    1,048
    354
    153
    62
See reviews for
807
1,385
88
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Room was much larger than expected - really, almost like a suite. Carpet was a little old, but room was very clean. Parking in the public garage was very convenient. Not a problem at all. Staff were very friendly and nice. Apppeared to be sincerely interested in trying to make a good impression. Convenient location to downtown tourist sites.

  • Liked — The room and location. Bed was very comfortable.
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank oldpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We booked this hotel during our trip along the coast because we thought it was a historic building. The doorman let us know almost immediately that it wasn't but I must admit, it's very tastefully done.
Having booked this hotel directly with Holiday Inn a month in advance, I was surprised to find out that my request for adjoining rooms with my mother had not been fulfilled. After a rather terse conversation with the hotel clerk on duty, we removed within minutes ourselves to the new rooms on the executive level.
While the hotel lobby is beautiful and charmingly even tastefully decorated, the executive level was a disappointment. There is no lounge and no coffee (you get a small coffeemaker in the bathroom). Instead there are two large rather noisy ice machines just left of the elevators and a free soda machine. I don't think this fits in with the style or clientele at all personally. We found it rather tacky.
The only bonus to the executive level is that you need a card to get on the floor and you can have free wine or beer with the manager in the lounge downstairs between 5 and 7. Since that is exactly when we eat with the kids, we never used it.
The location is wonderful but I would say that if you have children, you would be better off staying at the Holiday Inn on Calhoun since that is only 2 blocks walking distance from the Aquarium (Simply Wonderful!!) and the boat to Fort Sumter.
Charleston was spectacular and the shopping on King Street will bring my husband and myself back for our anniversary next year. We'll be staying at a charming nn, though...I think.

  • Liked — The room and the bellmen
  • Disliked — The check-in
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tobi2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Stayed one night (August, 2006) and would definitely stay here again. Location is close to everything. Hotel is in process of being renovated - request 5th or 6th floor for the "newest". Not your typical Holiday Inn. Doormen and Front Desk Staff very knowledgeable of area and restaurants. Public parking garage secure & convenient (attached access to hotel) - no problem with keeping our "loaded" van overnight as we continued on our journey the next afternoon. Great overall hotel experience. Recommend a short walk to Anson's (crispy flounder) for dinner, and Diane's (stuffed french toast) for breakfast. Didn't stay long enough to try out pool, or lounges, but will definitely be back for a longer stay here the next time...
Kim, New Jersey

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSISSAUGA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

This was the fourth stop of seven on our vacation with my family of four and it surpassed even my picky expectations. Our room was beautiful and clean. I booked a room with two doubles and because my husband is very tall, asked if there were any kings with a pull out couch when we got there. They upgraded us to a petite suite and it made our three day stay very comfortable. I also got a great deal on the room price which made it even better. The decoration is not outdated like a couple of people have mentioned before me, rather it is appropriate for the setting and period and they are currently renovating the entire 5th floor. The pool is very nice as well; clean and in a very nice setting. It's ideally located in the heart of the historic district and there's no reason why you can't walk to 80% of the attractions.The staff is excellent; knowledgeable about the area, friendly, etc. The kids loved Clarence; one of the doormen who has worked there for over 30 years. He's a character in his own right. John comes a close second.

Absolutely loved the place; it's charming. Top notch. The highlight of our vacation and unless you're a pampered movie star, you'll love this hotel.

Another note, we were lucky enough to get an excellent guide on our evening ghost tour. She made the tour a delight and my boys say that was one of their favourite things on the whole vacation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AWOL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This is a quaint, if curiously laid-out, hotel in the historic district of Charleston. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. Service was outstanding. The hotel restaurant's food was good, as was the fare for our business meeting. The pool area was outstanding. The hotel is a few blocks from the waterfront and just steps from other very interesting historical sites. It's really Charleston at its best!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sometimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We stayed at the Mills House in early June during the Piccalo Spoleto festival and had a lovely time at the Mills House. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, easy walking distance to shopping on King Street, the Market and the Battery. The staff was extremely gracious and helpful. The restaurants and the lobby area and Courtyard are lovely. The rooms themselves are a little dated but perfectly comfortable. We found the Mills House to be a great value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kitch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing