We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointment”
Reviewed November 29, 2009

looking forward to stay from recommendations on this site... was disappointed in this hotel. Front desk welcome was less than friendly, the woman did not smile or laugh. The bellman were excellent and always had the car to the front in a timely manner, they even cleaned the trash out. Stayed on the executive floor but not much above staying on a regular floor. Free carbonated beverage good but the other (one)perk was virtually non existent. Nightly goodies in the bar were 2 house wines and some mexican food. Had to wait over an hour to get service and manager of hotel had to be called. Room service food was abundant and excellent. Charleston is a wonderful, charming city this hotel could take some lessons from the city

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    1,041
    354
    152
    60
See reviews for
794
1,375
88
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Mills House on the 7th floor Executive Level. The rooms are small but nicely appointed. Our room looked out directly onto the beautiful St. Michael's Church. The bellman was welcoming; room service was prompt; the fitness room was adequate; the wait staff were friendly; only the the front desk needs improvement, where one young woman seemed not to belong in hospitality work. My wife needed a refrigerator for medicines and it was provided at no cost. There were four weddings at the hotel that weekend, so it did get noisy. The location is ideal, set amidst centuries of history and three blocks up to the Market and a few blocks down to the Battery. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Mills House.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights. The rooms were small but nice. The bathroom was especially cramped. I requested an upgrade to Executive level on the 7th Floor since I was a Priority Club Member. The week night rate fo $199 was best I could get but it went up to $299 on Friday and Saturday nights. I liked the meeting rooms and proximity to restaurants in walking distance. Charleston is clean and safe without beggars on every corner like in SF. I enjoyed walking around in the daytime and nightime and sampling the Low Country Cuisine. Overall, a great vacation and reasonable bang for the buck.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourpassion09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Florida, South Caroline and Georgia and this was supposed to be as good a hotel as the others.... most reviews were favourable but since returning i see others have posted their disappointment. We stayed 4 nights at the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota for virtually the same price as 3 nights in the Mills House. The room was small the bathroom even smaller but the worst aspect was the cleanliness - it wasn't pristine as you expect expensive hotels to be. The bathroom in particular wasn't cleaned properly during the whole of our stay. The room was dark and dusty - may i suggest the management employ new cleaning staff? Thankfully it didn't spoil our vacation - we loved the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel was wonderful! We used Priority Club points for our stay - otherwise the $250+ rate per night wouldn't have been in our budget. We were able to score a room right by the pool - couldn't have asked for a better room! The rooms are a little small, but we were only there to sleep! The hotel itself is gorgeous, and within walking distance of anything you want to do in downtown Charleston. The staff was very accomodating when my husband surprised me in our room with champagne and chocolates for our anniversary! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay in our own city for our eleventh year wedding anniversary. We chose the Mills House for its location and I had heard it was fairly nice. Both my wife and I were very disappointed in or stay. The room was small (even though we were on the "executive level"). The robes in the room we disgusting. The service at check in was less than friendly as was the service at the restaurant. The room service for breakfast was late and was missing items (both mornings we were there). I have traveled all over the country and outside the country and had always assumed that service would be wonderful in my home city, but that was not the case. I may never decide to stay in my city again, but if I do it will not be at the Mills House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooreOnRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Mills House is a beautiful hotel situated in the heart of historic Charleston. Its an easy walk to everything that's going on. The service is stellar. The staff goes above and beyond whether it be upgrading your room for your 10-year anniversary or rushing up some table salt to run a vaporizer for a sick child. Every time we come to Charleston we are sure to stay at the Mills House and we always have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weathercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,742 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing