We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice piece of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
198 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A nice piece of history”
Reviewed October 21, 2005

A very old hotel right in the middle of the historic district. Attention paid to period decor with the exception of the bathrooms, could have done better there. Staff was courteous and friendly, especially the valet parking people. Use valet parking as the garage is a block and a half away, well worth the little extra.

The rooms, although smaller in size were very satisfactory and nicely decorated and clean. Maid service was good and turn down service offered nightly. (A nice touch) The lobby and other public areas were beautiful and again in keeping with period decor.

The restaurant served an excellent breakfast buffet and the lunch and dinner menu looked good as well but we wanted to try other area restaurants.

The location was perfect, walking distance to City Market and other tourist sites. In general I couln't be more pleased.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    1,041
    354
    152
    60
See reviews for
794
1,375
88
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2005

This was a lovely hotel. I came as part of a large group and we had meetings in both the hotel ballroom and the Hibernian house next door (equally fabulous). My room was very nice and as it was on the top floor came with a feature that made my teenage sons green with jealousy...a free fountain style coke machine near the elevator landing. We also had a complimentary, very nice continental breakfast each morning delivered to the room (part of the top-floor service). I did have one problem on check-in, the first room I went to was a very smoky smoking room (this is tobacco country, lol) but when I asked for another they quickly moved me and all my things to a non-smoking across the hall and apoligized for the inconvenience. And I didn't encounter one single surly employee. Everyone was helpful and pleasant.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

No-one's in charge at the Mills House, or at least you're unlikely to see them - and the unkempt, dishevelled and dilatory staff shuffle about their business unchallenged and unmotivated.

Arrival: late, but still before midnight - the "night manager" had to un-wedge herself from behind the computer where she had been resting and took nearly 15 minutes to find, confirm and activate my reservation.

Room: drab, tired furnishings with stained carpet, ramshackle bathroom, noisy air conditioning. The bed was comfortable and the linens clean but I itched all night from some source and woke with red welts which couldn't have been mosquitoes because the window stuck and I couldn't open it.

Breakfast: the 'Barbadoes Room' may once have been grand but now it's a shabby paint-peeling, torn and patinated upholstered dump. Dark, dingy, depressing and staffed with people who have two speeds - shuffle, and resting. If you ASK for what you require, it will be brought - eventually - but there's no spring in the step, no alterness behind the eyes. This isn't Southern manners, it's lack of management. Tables remain uncleared, food goes cold, people are unattended.

However the contents of the buffet breakfast were good - decent bacon, Southern choices including grits and shrimp gravy, sausage and biscuits were all available. The call-order egg counter was staffed by a very young "chef" in the grubbiest uniform I've seen on public display and who seemed distinctly disoriented ... later in the day I saw him wandering aimlessly in the middle of the roadway a few streets from the hotel.

Front of House: no-one at the reception desk can answer a question about tourism, or amenities in the hotel, or locations in the town. They are completely, universally and almost cheerful-about-it ignorant, and there is no one to refer to. Many of them seem to need a wash or a shave. A concierge is occasionally on duty though never before 10am which it seems to me is too late for most guests to find her useful.

Charleston is full of nicer choices of hotels - I'd recommend an upscale guest house or even a standard motel-style place like a Hampton Inn before returning to this faded old mausoleum.

John Holt. London, UK.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

The property is in a great location for touring the historic district. It is about half way between everywhere, and makes an ideal start and end point for those that enjoy touring on foot. The atmosphere is "old world" and fits well with the historic environment of the area. It is in fact an historic property in it's own right. The staff is very friendly and service oriented, but we did experience one issue. I had reserved a room on the Executive level, but none were available upon check in. The desk clerk never mentioned this, and assigned us a standard room on a lower floor and did not offer to adjust the rate. Upon inspecting the room, we quickly realized it was not "Executive level." After a phone call to the desk, they quickly acknowledged the "oversight" and moved us to a suite on the same floor, and provided free coupons for breakfast and late afternoon cocktails consistent with the benefits of the executive level. Since it is an older property, the size of the rooms (particularly the bathrooms) is quite small but that is to be expected. Although clean, the decor and furnishings are definitely past their prime. Our room had worn carpets, banged up furniture and some minor chipping of paint. That aside, the rooms were comfortable, and quiet. Assuming you can get a favorable rate, the condition of the rooms is a fair trade off against the wonderful location. The breakfast buffet, and Sunday brunch were excellent. I would definitely consider staying here again, although would shop the room rate against other 3+ star properties to confirm it was a value.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan339g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2005

The Mills House is a great historic hotel in the middle of historic downtown Charleston. Located on Meeting Street it is within walking distance to most every attraction the downtown has to offer. The hotel has an interesting history, it is a reproduction of the original Mills House that was destroyed by fire in the 1860's. Robert E. Lee stayed at the hotel during the Civil War and watched as a great fire spread across much of the city. It is said that his ghost has been seen in the building. I have stayed here twice and I find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. My room had an excellent view from the window looking down below you could see Poogan's Porch, a charming restaurant with delicious food, and a ghost tale of its own! And in the distance the magnificent new bridge over the Cooper River could be seen, it is beautiful at night! The hotel lobby is absolutely amazing with marble floors and antique crystal chandeliers. There is a quaint little gift shop located in the lobby near the elevators and the entrance to the hotel restaurant The Barbodoes Room, which has delicious food! From the front steps of the hotel you can see the breathtaking white steeple of St. Michael's Church located at the "Four Corners of Law" and the Market is just two blocks away! There is a parking garage located behind the building at a price of $12 a day or you can get valet service for $17 from the hotel. The price was very reasonable at only $85 with the coupon I got from the SC Welcome Center. I will be staying here again on my return trip next year!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank crazyleaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2005

I love Charleston - it's one of my favorite places to vacation. I stayed at this hotel for the first time about a year ago and returned to it because it was such a nice experience.

I was not disappointed. Although it's a bit pricey, the Mills House is located in the heart of the historic district. The rooms are bright, clean and modern. The staff at the Mill's House are very pleasant and helpful.

I overheard some guests grumbling over the size of the rooms (they are on the small side), but it's a historic hotel. All room in the historic district hotels are small - no matter where you stay.

The meals we had in the Barbados Room (restaurant) and were wonderful.

Also, we stayed on the 7th floor (Executive Floor). This was great because we were served breakfast in our rooms each morning and were given passes for free wine and snacks in the afternoon.

The extra touches (free to all guests) such as the valet parking and nightly turn down service make this hotel well worth it! I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,740 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing