We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our stay at the Mills House was absolutely perfect. The room was large and beautiful and the location was right in the middle of everything we wanted to do in Charleston. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially our bellman Stewart, who knew the best restaurants in town and really went the extra mile for us!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    1,033
    350
    151
    59
See reviews for
786
1,356
86
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
296 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Mills House has been around Charleston for ages - literally. She has just undergone a renovation so the rooms and everything are up-to-date. One must remember most of the double rooms (they do not have queens) are a bit small - the building is that old. But the are still very comfortable. And the staff is friendly, efficient and courteous. Our bellman had been there for 42 years. Whatever we needed was only a request away. The rates are generally pricey but I shopped around and was able to get a reasonable rate for a girls week in town. The location cannot be beat. It is in the heart of the historic district. Once you park your car, you never need to get it until it is time to go. The grand marble foyer offer a cool soothing welcome after after a day on the hot streets. The swimming pool is great for a nice dip and respite from the crowds.

Room Tip: Shop for a good rate and ask about the view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACW2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Over the years my wife and I have stayed at the Mills House hotel about a dozen times. It is a historic building that predates the Civil War and one always got the feeling of stepping back in time since the furnishings were mid-19th century reproductions. We recently rented some rooms there for family and were stunned to discover that a remodeling project had replaced the previous decor with a "contemporary" design. Gone is the Southern charm, replaced with a look one would expect to see in a New York City boutique hotel. Thoroughly disappointing. Next time we need rooms in Charleston they will be at Planters Inn, Charleston Place, or Market Pavilion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We understand that our new design is very different from what some people have become accustom to, but we want you to know that the heart and soul of the hotel is still there. Times have changed so the design has went in a new more grand direction and we hope that you will stay loyal to us and the great service that our staff will continue to deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
324 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for three nights and no real complaints. Renovation of rooms were very nice with light teal colors and brown. Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. Close to some great eating establishments also. We had dinner at Poogan's Run was delicious! Be sure that you request a corner room...its the best!

I did have a problem with getting some hot tea for my wife in the morning, There was an area that was closed off and I was refused to get some hot water (it was 10 feet away)...very poor taste from the manager!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Real nice hotel! Rooftop pool.but they had the tinest bathroom I ever experienced! And I was in a suite!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for comments. Our bathrooms still have that Charleston charm and we look to keep some of the historic feel that Mills House is known for. We hope that this does not hold you back from visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My friend and I were there for 3 nights. We were greeted immediately and were helped with car and luggage to registration. Service was great the entire time. The room we had was a bit small but very well appointed. The best part was that the room we were in had a small patio by the pool. My friend and I enjoyed the pool every afternoon as it was very hot in the afternoon which made touring Charleston in the hot weather a little unbearable so we were grateful for the pool. We had a great hotel package that included $50 credit per night and valet parking. We used our credit for breakfast and drinks before dinner which we enjoyed a lot. On our last night stay, an Edward Jones conference was beginning and our experience at the hotel changed. The conference basically "overtook" the hotel, and as non-conference guests we did not get the same service or amenities. There were conference attendees having a noisy party by the pool at 2:45 am. The good news is that when I complained to the front desk, they took care of it immediately. But the noise in the hallways late at night could not be helped by the hotel. Additionally, the Edward Jones crowd had their breakfast held in the area where we had breakfast the previous 2 days and we as non-conference guests had breakfast in the "parlor" which was a make-shift area for breakfast. While the breakfast servers did their best, it was clear that the hotel was not prepared for this. I am glad that I was at the hotel prior to the conference because I think I would have checked out if we were there simultaneously for our entire stay. WHEN MAKING A RESERVATION, ASK IF A CONFERENCE WILL BE GOING ON.

Room Tip: If you'll be spending time at the pool, ask for a pool-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I want to give a sincere apology for your experience toward the end of your stay. We look to provide a balance of equal service for our guest and it seems we failed you in doing so. I cannot change the past, but I can use this feedback to improve our staff for future events. Thank you again and I hope to have the pleasure of having you and your family again as guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing