We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Mills House for 4 nights last week. We've stayed at a couple of smaller Charleston hotels in the past, and though we had an overall good stay at the Mills House, we preferred the others.

The Mills House staff is courteous and helpful, and the lobby and restaurant are lovely.

Our room was renovated (725), and we appreciated the new feel to it, though it was small. The color scheme is fresh and cool, and the bed coverings/drapes are quite nice. Some reviewers have commented on the motel-type furniture, and I agree that the end tables, chest, and desk do lend themselves to that criticism, but the two wing back chairs in the room are nice; in fact, most rooms this size don't have two easy chairs, so that is a real plus. The closet is larger than most hotels offer, and the size of the vanity in the bathroom, though not large, is adequate--certainly better than the pedestal sinks that are offered in many newer hotels.

There are no bathrobes, which I find strange in a hotel of this caliber, and the lack of towel racks is also strange--only one double hook. There is no place to hang a hand towel. The bathroom is quite small, but despite the lack of towel racks, it is functional. The quality of the towels is good.

We had a difficult time getting our room cleaned each day. I really don't think management has hired enough people to service the rooms for a hotel of this size in a timely fashion.

The location of the hotel is perfect, and there are many fine restaurants close by. There is no need to use a car.

Charleston has many truly fine hotels. I'm glad we stayed at the Mills House because I've always been curious about it, but unless we attend another meeting there, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We appreciate your business and greatly appreciate your genuine feedback on our property; for without it we could not continue to grow! Our experience is one unlike any other and we enjoy the opportunity given to provide excellent customer service and quality hospitality. Thank you again and we hope that you will return - whether personal or business related.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    1,030
    350
    151
    59
See reviews for
785
1,354
86
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice place. It is in a very good location in downtown. We could walk to a lot of places. The room was updated, clean, comfortable, good sleeping bed.
We had one issue when we checked in, they gave us room keys and room number and sent us on our way up. When we got there and went in there was someone's stuff in the room, iPad, clothes etc. we called back down to the front desk and they said that room showed to be empty, they said hang on and we will bring you new room keys for another room which was done promptly. We unpacked and went down, talked to the front desk which they said they would right a report to the manager which would be in on the morning shift. The next morning stopped by to talk with the manager and she acted as if she knew nothing and that is was no big deal. Well maybe not to her but what about the people who's room we went in, lucky for them we are honest. A gentlemen standing behind her did his best to smooth everything over and said the people were informed. This has never happened to us before, thought they could have had a little more concern.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cb8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
As a team, we do our best to adequately communicate with one another, especially between shifts but unfortunately human error sometimes allows some things to slip through the cracks. Thank you for the willingness to verify that the issue had been resolved and also for your patience during the solution process. Thank you for your patronage and we will see you on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I checked in unfortunately late after a number of delays, but the staff were very helpful and courteous. They arranged transportation for me to and from the airport, which was much appreciated, although the prices were considerably different. Through no fault of the staff or property, there was a rather obnoxious wedding party there for the weekend that was white, entitled, and a pretty rude. The staff dealt with the group professionally, and it seemed most of these guests were satisfied. The only real downside to the property is that the kitchen closed completely at 10 PM on a Friday, which meant I could not get food when I arrived. This was inconvenient but minor. My breakfast the following morning was very good, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and returned home safely. Thank you for allowing us to serve you and we will look forward to your return visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Spent 6 great days in Charleston enjoying the area. We were there during the closing of the bridge and very cold weather. The staff was very helpful and will to assist in any way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are glad that you were able to return home safely and also appreciate that you chose to stay at our property. Mother Nature cannot be controlled but we are grateful that of the things we were able to control. you were pleased. Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward you seeing you again on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice property, but the restaurant was under construction and we were not informed of this at the time we booked the reservation. During the middle of the second night, the water stopped working. When it did come back on, it was dark brown in color. Clear water was not restored until the middle of the afternoon = no showers before going out that day. No adjustment was made to the billing for this fairly big issue. They did bring some bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Trace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are sincerely appreciative of having had the opportunity to serve you and issue our apologies for your most recent experience due to construction and renovations. Please allow us the opportunity to earn your trust in our staff, customer service, and quality as a whole. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing