We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hartwell
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mills House for three nights on a pre-Christmas trip to Charleston. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They are currently remodeling the entire hotel but you could hardly notice. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was very nice. The rooms are not overly large but for two it was very comfortable. The towels were thick and fluffy. The turn down service at night was great as they brought ice and replenished the complimentary bottled water. The hotel is the closest to the battery and is right on meeting street. There is a public parking deck right behind the hotel that is connect with a ramp to the 2nd floor. Parking is $20 but that's the going rate in the city. Overall a great stay and we are planning another trip soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    1,055
    357
    153
    62
See reviews for
815
1,395
88
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here in March of 2013. Enjoyed my stay, as the room was very nice, with a nice amount of space. Fast and free internet. Excellent location right in the heart of town, near many attractions, and good restaurants. I enjoyed the history of the hotel, as well as the nice architecture. If returning to Charleston, would very likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Staying in the city for just one night, location and ease of getting to the downtown area was the most important factor for my stay and the Mills House was perfect. It's just a five minute walk from the market and the water, with tons of restaurants and shops nearby.

The hotel itself was beautiful and feels higher end than the price. Service is definitely a focus of this hotel; check-in and out were smooth and quick, the staff was welcoming and offered a handful of helpful tips for places to go in the city and everyone was friendly throughout our stay. Being a downtown hotel, parking can be tough and even pulling over to have the car valeted was crowded but the staff was right there and ready to help.

The room was spacious enough for two adults and one baby and had everything you could need, including a nice view of the neighborhood. There are a lot of choices in downtown Charleston, but next time I go I will come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location could not have been better. Very easy walking disctance all over the lower peninsula of Charleston (market, Battery, King St). 3 incredible restaurants (Husk, Poogans Porch, 82 Queen) all on side street right next to hotel.
Hotel is being renovated currently but that was no interference for our stay. I do hope they make the hotel doors more sound-proof with the renovation. Comfortable bed and great lobby bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

After making our reservation we were somewhat disconcerted to see some very unpleasant recent reviews. Then we arrived and cannot, for the life of us, figure out what the problems might have been.
Our room was lovely, clean to the nth degree, with a great view of downtown Charleston. The staff was most friendly and helpful. We visited two great restaurants right outside the hotel's door - Husk and 82 Queen. We found very convenient public parking next door to the hotel. The room plus breakfast package was a great value. Everything in the historic district was readily walkable. Renovations are in progress but no inconvenience. In fact, we rather liked taking a peek at what was going on. The roof pool was closed for the season but you could still sit outside with lovely plantings. Same was true of downstairs
patio. Bottom line: we'll return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTON
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I hosted my company Christmas party at the Mills House. The staff and the room were over the top. Reggie and the catering staff did a superb staff did a great job. I spent the night at the hotel as well. The room was perfect. Got a great night sleep, and room service showed up with breakfast right on time. Nice Job!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeshCharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,780 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing