We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property, perfect location, friendly staff with...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,357 - 2,363 of 3,477 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently my husband and I took a long weekend getaway to Charleston, SC. We stayed at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel. It was a very pleasant stay, after we changed rooms from the third floor to a newly updated room on seventh floor. The corner room we had on the third floor was on the back of the building and Queen Street. The first two mornings we were woken up at 6:30 by the beeping of delivery trucks backing into the alley directly below our windows and trucks lifting the dumpsters used in the remodeling project. After moving to a newly remodeled room on the seventh floor, we were more rested to enjoy our time in a Charleston. The location of The Mills House was perfect. It was strategically located between historic downtown Charleston, outstanding restaurants on East Bay Street and great shopping on King Street. The courtyard at The Mills House was a pleasant place for a relaxing cocktail after a busy day of shopping, site seeing and visiting museums.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ember B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The overall experience was wonderful, I so appreciate the historic feel of the hotel, but also appreciate Wyndam's willingness to do renovations and keep the property up to date. The staff seem like a great group of people-which is the highest compliment I can give someone who is in the business of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Cory W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the new, modern renovated rooms. While I love modern hotels rooms, this one missed the mark on so many levels. The room did not match the rest of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable but the overall look and feel was very cheap and had a days inn feel. The walls were done in a bright white and aqua blue color with matching accessories and gold mirrors. All the lamps had bright, fluorescent energy saving light bulbs which cast a bright, harsh light within the room (operation room lighting). The room contained 2 tall, oversized modern chairs that were very nice but made a small room feel even smaller. We loved the Mill House for its location, history and charm but was very disappointed with the new renovation of the room.

Room Tip: There is a parking deck right behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linneloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved the location of the hotel and the hotel itself was beautiful but the guest rooms were tight. So was the bathroom. Also, it would have been nice if the beds had been bigger (queen size).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mary Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,637 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $195 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing