We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but passed the hotel many times and thought it was delightful. We went in and had lunch at the restaurant. Very enjoyable and staff helpful. We want to go back and stay. BTW, the holiday decorations in the lobby were beautiful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FrancesDecatur,
Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I have passed along your kind remarks to the restaurant service professionals. It is our hope that you will consider us for accommodations also on your next visit to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    976
    326
    147
    57
See reviews for
726
1,285
81
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first day was fine, great help with check in, valet and concierge...second day not so much.. they did not clean our room, valet no where to be found when we went to retrieve our keys (we did call ahead) and drop off car... third strike was the front desk manager told me to book my room on line when I wanted to extend my stay for a difference of $7.00... was so sarcastic we went to another hotel and bad attitude. Lots of talk of them getting bought out to customers not sure I care about their work problems was there to enjoy and relax...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzmilardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear lizzmilardo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken your remarks seriously and have followed up on them. It is our sincere hope that you will consider the Mills House for future visits to Historic Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here with a group of friends, and we found the hotel charming and the staff friendly and eager to please. The location is good, too. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard, and--unfortunately--weather didn't permit our making use of it, but it would be lovely on most South Carolina days. The hotel is also within walking distance of several good restaurants. I think it was a very good value for the convenience and ambience of downton Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarwoodJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear StarwoodJunkie
Thank you for your review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks about the staff have been passed on to our Service Professionals.
We hope that you will consider our hotel for any future visits to Historic Charleston.
Wishing you a pleasant week!
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place!! It was beautiful, clean, no funky odors, attentive staff...and the location was perfect!! The con was the parking...ugh. But the valets were speedy and for the most part, cordial. The bed was comfy, it wasn't noisy, and the elevators were fast. Lucie in the bar was a delight and tons of fun. She recommended several places to check out and all were great. We would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COmomma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear COmomma74,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks are much appreciated. We try to exceed each guest's expectations and in your case we are pleased that we did indeed accomplish our goal. I will pass along your compliments to Lucie also.
We hope that you will consider us for your future accommodations should you visit Charleston again.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The good :Great staff..beautiful facility for wedding reception. I would definitely go back when I return to Charleston. The bad: water pressure in the shower is non existent..had to move coffee pot because one of the outlets didn't work. That being said bed was comfortable room was clean great value for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accfsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear accfsi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind remarks and have taken your comments on the maintenance issues seriously and have discussed them with the staff. It is our sincere hope that you will consider us for your accommodations on upcoming visits to Charleston.
Regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just had 2 days here. What a beautiful little place. Beautiful courtyard, gorgeous bar, very nice restaurant. Room was pretty small but nice. Know that there is no counter space in the bathroom. One standing sink with no counter. The location is ideal. We walked everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear luvacationing,
Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time from your busy day to post a review on TripAdvisor. I have passed your kind feedback along to all of our Service Professionals. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your 2 day stay with us.
It is our hope that you will consider our hotel for any future trips to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice but as we got our room through priceline I think they assigned us to one very old not that nice room. Its was a little dirty, old carpet and the bathroom tub didn't drain.. Location is very good! Parking $20 per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraKanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear DraKanka
Please accept my sincere thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed it with the staff.
Thank you again,
John Edwards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing