We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Mills House Hotel during a fall weekend pleasure trip. I found the staff to be very professional and friendly. The room was cozy, pleasant and fitting with the hotel's overall historic charm (although the hotel itself is actually a 1970s reconstruction of an historic building). The location simply cannot be beat. The hotel is within easy walking distance of several points of interest in Charleston's historic district. This is especially handy since parking appears to be somewhat challenging. My only complaint was that it was somewhat difficult to connect to the hotel's Wifi from my room.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the second floor for better Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magellan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear magellan74,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our great city and that we played a part in making your trip a memorable one. I have passed your compliments along to our service professionals. We have noted your comments on the wifi. It is our hope that you will consider us for future visits to Historic Charleston.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    938
    316
    141
    57
See reviews for
691
1,203
79
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Mills House Hotel in beautiful downtown Charleston, SC and it was wonderful. Everything about it was amazing. The rooms are so great you hate to leave them but it's a must to see all that Charleston has to offer. After a long day and relaxing by the pool for a while we ended with room service. The only down fall is the parking situation but that's to be expected with anything in downtown. I would highly recommend the hotel as well as the downtown experience of Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mriffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear mriffle,
Please accept our thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of The Mills House Hotel. Your "Heavenly" review was very appreciated!! It makes all of our service professionals beam with pride when we read reviews such as yours at our morning meetings. It means we accomplished our goal to exceed our guests' expectations. So thank you very much. We would love to have you stay with us again if you visit our great city in the future.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for the best in modern conveniences with the warmth and charm of Charleston, check out the Mills House in the heart of old Charleston. The rooms are nicely appointed and the hotel gives the feeling of the low country.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzybee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Suzybee7
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Mills House. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will consider us for future visits to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel has awful service. We held a wedding there and the staff was incredibly rude and incompetent. The front desk staff had no idea what weddings were going on at the hotel and directed people to the wrong receptions. They also gave away keys to the bride and groom's room without consulting them. 2 guests - including the bride - had cash stolen from their wallets during the reception. The waiters did not pay any attention to what type of wine was available - and were too lazy to serve the father of the bride what he wanted. Do not hold any special events here, the management is terrible and unapologetic. Stay away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Melissa R
Please know that we are very concerned in reference to your comments posted on TripAdvisor. I reviewed your comments with our entire staff. Our staff received numerous compliments from guests at the reception about the food and service. We have been in contact with the bride and mother of the bride to discuss. We will continue to be professional while dealing with your comments and are available if you would like to discuss. We take pride in our great reputation as a destination wedding venue.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here at the suggestion of a colleague. I slowly started to give up on some hotels in Charleston b/c of various issues. But this inn was charming. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only suggestions would be to get rid of the fabric canopies over the bed. A great place for dust. Also get rid of the bed spreads. A nice white duvet would be great. The hotel restaurant is rarely crowded. Mainly b/c this town had loads of great restaurants. Also, the Wi-Fi isn't the best.Parking is another issue. As per usual, it's cheaper to go with the valet. If you opt to self-park, you'll be charged every time you enter and leave the parking deck. You're also adjacent to shopping-hub King Street and the much-hyped restaurant Husk. 82 Queen is a few steps away and is a good restaurants.
I like this inn and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lilyn1
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mills House on TripAdvisor. Your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel are much appreciated. Also we have noted your comments on the canopies and the bedspreads. We really appreciate your remarks about the staff and I will pass those on to our service professionals. Again please accept my thanks for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us on future visits to our historic city.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is all about "historical" and location. It is located in a very desireable area for the historical district and shopping. The hotel itself is a historical building. The staff are helpful and kind. From a comfort standpoint the hotel is "old style" with very small bathrooms. Most women will not like this bathroom due to the size.

Travellers must make a decision whether to pick this hotel for the location and to stay in a historic building or pick a more modern and comfortable hotel. We are glad we stayed there, but when we come back to Charleston the next time we will likely stay in a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect a normal hotel room size bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear erparadise,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely hotel and excellent service from staff particularly Althea Singleton at breakfast. Good location with easy walk to local restaurants and bars and shopping . I really appreciated being able to check in early 11.00am . Although the hotel was reasonably expensive it represented good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Chris P,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals, especially Althea. We hope you will consider our hotel for future visits to our historic city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing