We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keys trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

There is a difference between a motel and a hotel. This is a very nice hotel. it may cost more but treat yourself. this is very clean, great pool, very good restaurant, very nice bar. close to every thing

Room Tip: try to get on the 7th floor on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeterReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,996 - 3,002 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay in Charleston for 4 nights. The hotel is older, but it doesn't really matter once you realize how charming it is considering it is a Holiday Inn. I am a member of the Priority Club and no one even mentioned it upon check-in. They are a little aloof. The best reason to stay there is the location. It is close to all of the great restaurants and shopping. Plus it is so close to the Battery. We attended a wedding there and got a great group rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edel27215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Came here on business and pleasantly surprised to find this hidden gem in downtown Charleston. Highly recommend staying here!! Love the historic building and being in the heart of downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes and camera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLBRManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This property is older, and once you're OK with that, you'll really enjoy the quirky layout of the building and the decor aimed at reminding the guests of the grander days of Southern hotels. Sure, it's a little tired, but remember the location and get over it.

As a member of the loyalty program, I was upgraded to a room with a great location - 2nd floor, close to the parking deck and with a walk-out patio next to the pool. Food and beverage options within the hotel are a good selection.

Priority Club recognition on check-in is good, but past that, you may not see any other sign that this hotel is part of the global chain of Holiday Inn hotels. That is really the only real downside of this hotel... for guests used to being treated like long-lost relatives in other hotels within the brand, they may find the slightly stand-offish service less than appealing. I didn't even receive a response to a pre-stay question I'd asked the hotel a couple of days before I arrived, which just seems lazy and shows they may just care less than other hotels' staff.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor even numbers have walk-out patio rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely, a well restored colonial building and it is well turned out. Bellboys abound in their beige shorts and white shirts, but scratch the surface and you find that it is only a veneer of service. Arrive a little later than most to the restaurant, as I did, and you are clearly a nuisance and preventing staff from going home. And when I noticed that breakfast started at 7am - which was the time I had to leave the hotel for a meeting - the receptionist was less than helpful. I asked what my options were, expecting her to say that some cereal or maybe some fruit could be made available for me, and was told, in no uncertain terms, that my options were to go somewhere else for breakfast.
If you come as a tourist, laid back and on local time, this is a great spot to stay. If you are a business traveller, working on someone else's time and expecting your hotel to meet your needs, you should stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank AC868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Location! Location! Location!
This property is magnificent - they've captured & displayed it's history beautifully from the exterior to the inside each of room, Mills House is perfectly located within walking distance to the old city market where local women still make baskets by hand before your eyes!
Upon arrival I handed my keys the Valet & my 8 year old nephew gave a curious look. Once we entered the hotel that curiosity turned to awe! While checking in I could see him looking around the lobby...still very quiet he says this is NICE!
The purpose of our trip was to get him to the beach & a history lesson, the beaches are about a 10-15 minute drive over that magnificent Ravenel Bridge to Sullivan's Island.
This city offers GREAT food & history... This hotel offers GRREEEAAATTT Comfort, Peace and History. The property is immaculate and offers a journey back in time, if you love history!

Room Tip: We had a ROH with a view that was not so great, but we didn't come for the view outside - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SollysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The location of this facilty in old downtown Charleston is great. This is a really old building that has been retrofitted into a modern hotel. The rooms are small and it is a charming facility with all the services you need, but it is not luxurious. Sometimes a "historic hotel" means it has been refurbished to a very high standard and sometimes it just means the hotel is old. This facility falls somewhere in the middle.

Staff is very welcoming and helpful.

The location is what makes this hotel a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerbyMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,961 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,153 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,023 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $213 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing