We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming hotel in the heart of the historic district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% Off Best Rate
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of the historic district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Mills House for two nights. First, we didn't know what to expect, as it came up as Holiday Inn, but then it was also 4 stars... Booked it via Hotwire and got a great rate.
Service at check-in was quick and corteous. We got a room with a king size bed on the 6th floor. Yes, it wasn't the biggest hotel room ever, and the bathroom might have been on the smaller side (normal for someone from New York), but it had plenty of charm and everything was very clean and had all amenities.
We had breakfast there once, but found it to be a bit overpriced for the money. However, the room service we had once was pretty good food and again the staff very professional and nice.
The location is hard to be beat - right in the historic district within walking difference of almost all the sights - otherwise you could take the free shuttle.
Definitely had a great time at the Mills House Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superfritzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    920
    308
    140
    56
See reviews for
674
1,183
79
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We made last minute reservations the week after Christmas at the Mills House and it was great! We have been to Charleston many times, but had never stayed here. It was in a great location and very convenient to everything. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were very pretty. We were given complimentary drinks, so we after cocktails before dinner. The bartender was very friendly and made a great drink. I asked for a room on an upper floor. We were given a room on the 7th floor (8th is highest) which had a fantastic view of the city and harbor. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whatever240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We've stayed in several other hotels/ B&B's in Charleston but overall we felt the Mills House was the best. We found it to be the perfect combination of location, affordability (Less than $280 per night), southern charm, elegance, and hospitality.

We do a lot of walking and sight seeing while in Charleston so for us location is key. The Mills House is located just far enough down Meeting St. so you're away from the hustle and bustle of Market St but still close to everything. Three blocks down Queen towards the harbor and you're on E. Bay where McCrady's is located. King St is only 1/2 block away plus Washington Park, St Micheal's church and Broad St are just down the road. Also, there are three excellent restaurants directly across Queen St from the hotel - Poogan's Porch, Husk, and 82 Queen. Another bonus is there are a couple quaint B-fast spots nearby - Toast and Eli's.

We also thought the staff was attentive and nice and overall the hotel was kept very clean. Our room was great. We stayed in room 613... a junior King Suite. It was very quiet, clean, and had plenty of room. Plus we had terrific views of the Ravenel Bridge. The only criticism was that the bathroom was very small but no big deal for us. The next time we go back to Charleston we'll be staying at the Mills House again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. Room 613 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here with my family over Thanksgiving, and the Mills house was, for the most part, fantastic. You can't beat the location. Right downtown, it is within walking distance of all the major downtown sites, and we even accidentally passed by it on our walks quite a bit. The staff was pleasant, and the breakfast, though not free, was very good. The Sunday brunch, while exorbitantly expensive (good thing my parents were treating us to this trip!), had many options to choose from and was delicious as well. The rooms were very nice and beautifully decorated, but it was a bit of a struggle to fit four adults into a room. The main areas are stunning, and as we went around the holidays, they had decorated Christmas trees in several rooms that made for nice family portraits. The only downsides are that it was a tiny bit pricey, though my father did manage to find a good deal, and anything would be pricey in the downtown areas. Also, parking, as mentioned in other reviews, can be expensive and prohibitive. You have to use the valet parking, and it takes about 15 minutes for them to bring your car around to the front of the building. Fortunately, if you are like us, you'll be walking most of your trip anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We usually go to Savannah for my husband's birthday in March but this year he wanted to go to Charleston. We chose the Mills House as it was in downtown Charleston and we could park the car for the 4 days we were there and still be able to see the sights we wanted to visit by walking or tour.
The Mills House captures the charm of old Charleston however that's where it stops.
Check in was rather terse and the room type we had booked was "not available" due to a large wedding. Well I always call the hotel a few days before arrival to check on our reservation and was told "yes, you have a poolside balcony room". Now when you pay above $300 a night for a Holiday Inn (Mills House) you would expect your requests to be honored or at least told there is a problem.
Our King room was very very very small. Housekeeping "seemed" to do their job, however I looked at the same hairpin behind the bathroom door for 2 days! With the attitude the front desk seemed to have down pat I did not even call them about this. The service in the lounge was very good and room service was an actual highlight as the food was fresh and hot!
This year we will be going back to the Mulberry in Savannah to experience a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dandBallGround_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great location is you are visiting Charleston. It is an old hotel but has all of the modern cons.

The staff are very pleasant. The public areas are lovely although the bedrooms area little tired.
However I would recommend it and would certainly recommend Charleston, a beautiful city

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We only stayed one night, but it was a very comfortable experience. The hotel is beautiful, and within easy walking distance of beautiful downtown Charleston. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#25 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing