We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My family stayed overnight prior to departure for our cruise. Stunning upon entrance and I was taken in by the charm and the friendliness of the staff. Nice room, comfy bed and lots of smiling faces to greet you in the morning!! Very close to the port, walking distance to local shops. We will definitely come back, stay here again when we have more time to enjoy Charleston as it is meant to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,726
    1,049
    354
    153
    62
See reviews for
808
1,385
88
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Charleston attractions. The staff is extra helpful and was quick to correct an error on our bill. They did have events booked both weekend nights in the lobby/ conference room, but our room on the sixth floor was still quiet. They had a very nice pool area and rooms with balconies on the second floor. The business center was an easy place to check email or print boarding passes. The gym was a little small and the treadmill was always busy, but staff gave me great directions for an outdoor run that was much better (I saw a dolphin while running along the sea wall!). I would stay again if I return to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyTravelerMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Primarily chosen on location (very close to the houses south of Broad Street and one block off King Streets galleries and antique stores). It is however a hotel with a great old vibe (even though it was reconstructed after a fire some time ago). Room 715 is great for view--river and bridge to the north and southward toward Sumpter Island. It is also high enough that the noise isn't too bad. Bathroom too small, but not unusually so for an old hotel. Service terrific. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Great location, staff were very helpfull,room was very nice. Have stayed there before with the same service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The location was great. Unfortunately our room was facing Queen St and with the restaurants across the street, the garbage trucks and delivery trucks were very noisy in the morning. If you are an early riser (6:00am) then you would be fine. I suggest staying in the rooms facing the courtyard although I expect those would be pricier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Queen St were noisy in the morning with garbage trucks and delivery trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel does not deserve a 4-diamond AAA rating. I looked into the other 4-diamond hotels in the downtown area with equally desirable locations, and The Mills House is not nearly as nice. Maybe it once was, but not now. It's cheaper than the others, and there is a reason for that.

The front desk staff was indifferent on check-in. I stayed in two rooms. The first bathroom sink drained so slowly that a trickle of water from the tap filled it up, and I had to wait for it to drain before turning on the tap. The shower volume is not adjustable, and the drain was so slow that I wound up standing over ankle-deep in water. The shower curtain was so flimsy it clung to me from the air flow created by the shower, and was so short that the floor was flooded before I realized it. I was moved to a "better" room. There was gunk and crud around the floors of both bathrooms I stayed in, especially around the door frames. The second room would have had a nice view if the windows had not been so grimy. The room decor is straight out of Holiday Inn - in other words, cheap.

For those with a car, the only practical option is hotel valet parking, which is pricey. However, in-and-out access is unlimited, and the bellmen did a very good job of bringing the car promptly. If only the rest of the staff had been as conscientious. The concierge (if there really was one) was AWOL. Misinformation from the front desk about the trolley schedule resulted in a very long walk back from John Street one night.

The location is very good, just a block north of Broad Street, which puts the hotel between the old historic business district and the old historic residential section between Broad and the Battery. The location is about all The Mills House has going for it, and there are some 3-diamond lodgings just up the street.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Queen Street (noise from morning deliveries) and rear higher floors (noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

All over great experience. Located in the heart of downtown Charleston. Walking distance to great shopping on King Street, the Charleston Market. And great attractions like the Battery and Washington Square. The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping service was good with turn down service in the evening. Valets were friendly and very fast. We got room service for breakfast one morning which was good and timely. We also ate breakfast in the Barbados Room which was excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor which is the top floor- we heard howling at night which was either the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,398 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing