We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Island County Park
Review Highlights
One of the most beautiful parks in Charleston!

This is a great place to go camping with your family or friends. There are great walking/bike... read more

Reviewed June 19, 2019
Bakermanning1987
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Good time for kids!

One of my favorite things about being a grandpa is being able to connect with my grandkids and help... read more

Reviewed June 14, 2019
NassemGhani
Read all 227 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Charleston
from $44.00
More Info
from $29.68
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
180
31
11
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
180
31
11
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews festival of lights climbing wall walking trails light display santa's village winter wonderland awesome dog christmas light show folly beach disc golf course splash zone holiday lights million lights roast marshmallows merry go round small train per vehicle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 227 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2019

For a county park,it should be available for vistors to visit for free..there was enough $$ that was for parking..really? In virginia you can cross the james river with your car for free!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Monika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

We live just down Riverland drive from the park and come here often. Great fishing dock and bike/hiking trails. We have caught dinner here on more than one occasion and have great fun doing it. It has a large water park and a huge dog park for those of you with pets. It also features some large shelters you can rent for family get togethers. Beautiful views everywhere you can’t go wrong by coming here

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank islandboy1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

I love on James Island and come here regularly. This park is stellar! They have both paved and dirt/gravel trails for walking or biking. There are canoe and paddle boat rentals to take out on a small lake. The dog park is huge and has water access for the pups. Beautiful views into the marsh from one of the trails. I haven't stayed at the campground, but I have walked through it and it looks nice. I have used the conference facilities, a couple of different buildings, and they have been great every time. Festival of Lights at the Holidays is also a fun stop. The park is amazing, stop by, you will be pleasantly surprised!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank hydroxero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We camped at James Island Park. The site was a great pull-thru and fairly level. There are a lot of activities available for families, water park, climbing wall, hiking, and biking trails. It is very convenient to local things to do.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Recommended by a friend that used to work at campground so
we went with 4 other couples. Each couple rented a cottage for
the 3 nights we were there and all cottages were next to one another. Was a great alternative to expensive hotels in area. Be
advised that the cottage kitchens are minimally furnished but we ate out all meals considering all choices for food in the area.
Also not alcohol allowed so do your drinking while out .Would
definitely stay again. Try to see Festival of lights during week nights since a lot of traffic on weekends and some roads are
closed off at night.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews