We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ballpark, Good Crowd”

Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park
Ranked #42 of 238 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Joe Riley Stadium is home to the Charleston Riverdogs, concerts, camps, and other activities. It is one of the nicest minor league stadiums in America, and is situated on the banks of the Ashley River. It is extremely popular in Charleston, and Riverdog games are known across the country for their unique promotions, Friday night Fireworks, and one of their quirky co-owners (Bill Murray).
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Ballpark, Good Crowd”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Whenever I travel to a new city I try to check their minor league baseball team if there is one. It's a great way to see a side of a city that I normally wouldn't had I just done the touristy things. Charleston has the Riverdogs and they're affiliated with the Yankees (love the irony of that). The park they play in is good, the crowd was fun the night I was there, and the Dogs won. A good time was had by all!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmarkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    62
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Night Out”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visit Charleston about twice a year and we always squeeze in a night at the ballpark! There are great people that make the evening fun for the whole family. Plenty of leg room for adults. All seats are close enough for the kids to see. Bring your umbrella stroller parking is a ways away from the stadium seating and there is no where to store the big clunky ones.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank darlsosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“And I m not a sports person but”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Going to see the Riverdogs at Joe Riley Park is getting to be quite a habit at our house. There are so many promotions senior night, free hot dogs with your ticket, coupons on the tickets for free tacos and other discounts. T shirts, dog nights, family nights anything they can think of!

We've sat all over the place and it's all good. The people watching is great and lots of families come. Sometimes I even watch the game!

The only annoying thing is the announcer and the music they play between innings or other breaks very very loud.

Don't miss the kids that come out and compete as Sumo wrestlers. Like everyone else says this fun and affordable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallaghersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC 29455
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Ball Park”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a really good stadium to watch the RiverDogs, a minor league team in the Yankee organization. There isn't a bad seat in the house. There is a real sense of fun-the team is owned by Mike Veeck and Bill Murray and the motto is "fun is good". Lots of different promotions like fireworks every Friday night and lots going happening on the infield between innings. They even have a dog day when everybody can bring their dog. Lots of food choices and the prices are reasonable enough for a family night out that doesn't break the bank. It's a very family oriented, child friendly park. But somebody has to pay attention to the game because the seats are so close to the field.''.

A group of us go a couple of times a year-some for the food and drink, some for the baseball, some for the firework and some just to take in the whole scene.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A SPORTY PARK”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

While the Riverdogs aren't on top of their game right now, it is still such fun to go watch them. This is a very nice park, based loosely on professional parks. Stores, vendors, lots of food and beverage choices. Lots of between innings activities for all. The weather is usually very good, being right on the water you usually get a nice breeze.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing