We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect for $5”
Review of Theatre 99

Theatre 99
Ranked #4 of 51 Nightlife in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theatre 99 is Charleston's Home for Improv Comedy. It is not a comedy club as Trip Advisor has listed it as. It is a 130 seat theatre, not a club with tables. We specialize in improvisational comedy which is unscripted theatre. It makes for a very funny night. We just don't want users of Trip Advisor to come expecting stand up comics telling jokes on a microphone. Theatre 99 does host stand up comedy shows periodically, but our main focus is improve comedy on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights at 8:00 p.m. Thank you for supporting live performance!
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What do you expect for $5”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We bought Improv tickets for $5 and we didn't expect much which was good because that's what we got. We saw several 'acts' and only one of them had any comedic value. It's basically college kids doing skits they seem to only have gone over a handful of times. I'm an easy person to make laugh and I was bored during the performances. We left before it was over. Additionally, the auditorium is nasty... there was gum stuck to the cup holders and it was just overall disgusting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nolegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fullerton,ca
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice for a change”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very funny. Love the fact that it new and refreshing as opposed to someone just up standing on stage giving their spiel. The get ideas from the audience and run with it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seah0rse_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funny”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Saw an ad for the comedy show & decided to try it. They were sold out, but after 7 pm you could check for extra tickets. Luckily for us, there were seats still available. The first part of the show with the audience participation was our favorite. The cast members were really funny & quick-witted. We laughed out loud. The theatre area is small but the acoustics are very good. I don't hear very well, but could understand almost all of what was being said. At only $10 a ticket, this was a great deal, Lots of laughs & entertainment!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where you should be on Wednesdays”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Go, you won't be sorry. The best 5 bucks you will spend all year. They are funny, witty, and extremely friendly. Go support the local improve club.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadieckow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typical Vulgar Childish attempt at comedy”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Im sorry to say, but in my opinion this was typical vulgar childlike attempt at comedy. There were few funny lines in their improvisational skits. They tried regularly to do the usual low class thing and fill in the weakness with comments about mens and womens' genitals, the sex act or bodily elimination functions. Overall: Grade D. I would not waste my money on this puerile attempt at entertainment. Its sad watching grown men and women talking like like middle school aged bratty children. Much of the young audience plied with much alcohol was understandably laughing a lot. patron: Washington DC March 2013

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre 99 also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Theatre 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing