We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to spend an afternoon”

Charleston Culinary Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Downtown Charleston Culinary Tour
Ranked #2 of 28 Food & Drink in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charleston Culinary Tours combine the best of Charleston history, cocktails and food with unique tours that highlight the Lowcountry. Each Charleston Culinary Tour visits several different restaurants, bars or the Farmer's Market to combine elements of a historical tour with a culinary adventure. The food and drinks on the tours are chosen by various restaurant and bar partners and feature an array of eclectic dishes and concoctions that provide insight into Charleston's cuisine and cocktail scene. On each tour, you will not only have an opportunity to sample some of the Lowcountry's finest offerings, but also to meet the owners, chefs and mixologists behind Charleston's impressive culinary and bar innovations. Four Tours Available:Charleston Culinary Tour, Chefs' Kitchen Tour, Farmer's Market Tour and Mixology Tour. As most tours sell out, all reservations are required in advance. Groups need to be booked at least three days prior to tour. Each tour is limited in size. Charleston Culinary Tours are held rain or shine.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I took the downtown tour with my girlfriend on a rainy weekday afternoon. We were using a Groupon deal, which cut the tour price in half. Knowing what I know now, though, I would pay full price for this adventure.

The day began with the Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, which gives off the allure of a chain brewery. The food didn't resemble the decor, which is actually fun. My favorite dish, a shrimp and grits standard, was served here.

It was with the shrimp and grits where our tour guide set the tone for the day, when he described the unique pig involved in making the dish so sweet. His explanation here, as it was during the rest of the tour, including walking down various streets, was interesting, understandable, amusing and personable. Our guide made us feel at home and at ease, to the point where we asked questions and chatted informally afterwards.

The second stop, Amen Street, had the most interesting food. Additionally, my girlfriend was asking about oysters and our guide wrestled one up for us at no extra charge.

Our final stop, Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, was a bit of a disappointment. The locale is appealing, but the food presentation is a bit pretentious. The meal included steak that we grilled ourselves on hot rocks in the middle of the table. That experience was a little much and suggested the place was too focused on gimmicks.

The dessert that we finished with was interesting and tasty.

The best part about this stop was the access to the chefs. The downside was that they didn't seem interested in engaging the customers or promoting their food. They could have taken a page from the tour guide.

The whole experience left us stuffed and content.

There are a mix of restaurants that are used for this tour and i would trust the guides to lead me again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,199
    116
    62
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Way to Sample Charleston's Offerings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We visited 4 restaurants on the Downtown tour with Bill as our tour guide-the Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, the Lowcountry Bistro (formerly Garibaldi Cafe), leaf (formerly Vickery's Restaurant) and Kaminsky's. At the Southend Brewery we had samples of their local beers, grilled smoked meatloaf with mushrooms, bbq gravy & mashed potatoes as our 1st course. Next they brought out fried green tomatoes with a veggie topping, balsamic vinegar & feta? cheese and last a dish of bbq pulled pork. It was awesome!

From there, we walked to the Lowcountry Bistro & had 3 courses also: stewed tomato & okra rice topped by blackened shrimp with a roasted creme fraiche, then a pork belly "BLT" of grilled cornbread, braised pork belly, & fried green tomato with a blackberry merlot sauce. The 3rd course was a sweet potato/bacon/cornbread waffle topped with a piece of buttermilk fried chicken, pecan butter & bourbon syrup. We were full & we still had 2 more places to go!

Our 3rd stop was at leaf where we had a grilled caesar salad of romaine lettuce with a parmesan crisp, meatloaf with collard greens, mashed potatoes & portobello mushroom gravy; and risotto with spinach, lobster butter & shrimp. It was all awesome!

Last but not least, we stopped at Kaminsky's for dessert & had slices of chocolate and butter-pecan cake. We took these to go since we were unable to eat anything more!!

You will definitely not need to eat dinner after this tour, which lasts a little over 3 hours. It was a great experience & we are looking forward to booking their other culinary tour next time, the Upper King Street tour. Bill did a great job & filled us in on lots of interesting history of Charleston!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NUHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have been fed and went to heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just patricipated in the Charleston Culinary Tour with our guide, Charley Boyd. We were taken to four establishments where we were treated to some of the best food Charleston offers. In total were were given ten different samples. These portions were of good size and after the tour, I do not think any of us went away hungry. This is our first visit to Charleston, and this tour gave us a real "taste" of this beautiful city!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Wonderful introduction to different restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I purchased this as a gift for a friend for her birthday. Four of us were on the tour and we were so impressed. Each restaurant was prepared. We weren't rushed. Our guide, Bill, was knowledgeable and friendly and made all of us feel relaxed and welcome. The food was phenomenal and the portions very generous. Don't eat the day of your tour. We were full before the third resaurant. We will definitely be doing this again!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We learned so much about Charleston - both history and culinary information from our guide Susan. We were able to taste special foods of Charleston and learned we LOVE Grits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank volalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Culinary Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Culinary Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing