We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Much More than a Food Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Culinary Tours

Charleston Culinary Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Downtown Charleston Culinary Tour
Ranked #2 of 25 Food & Drink in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charleston Culinary Tours combine the best of Charleston history, cocktails and food with unique tours that highlight the Lowcountry. Each Charleston Culinary Tour visits several different restaurants, bars or the Farmer's Market to combine elements of a historical tour with a culinary adventure. The food and drinks on the tours are chosen by various restaurant and bar partners and feature an array of eclectic dishes and concoctions that provide insight into Charleston's cuisine and cocktail scene. On each tour, you will not only have an opportunity to sample some of the Lowcountry's finest offerings, but also to meet the owners, chefs and mixologists behind Charleston's impressive culinary and bar innovations. Four Tours Available:Charleston Culinary Tour, Chefs' Kitchen Tour, Farmer's Market Tour and Mixology Tour. As most tours sell out, all reservations are required in advance. Groups need to be booked at least three days prior to tour. Each tour is limited in size. Charleston Culinary Tours are held rain or shine.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So Much More than a Food Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took the Upper King St. tour with Guilds yesterday. It was fantastic. Guilds, having grown up here and having an endearing personality, has an edge over other tour guides. He can speak about the area from his own experiences and from that of local people he knows personally.

The food on the tour was tasty, and I enjoyed experiencing the restaurants, but even more I loved where he took us and the fascinating history that he presented. The highlight for me was visiting a private Jewish cemetery.

The tour is also in an area that I wouldn't normally walk around on my own and, where I would not have noticed the details that he pointed out.

Bravo!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoBoysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    109
    58
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alviso, California
1 review
“Downtown culinary tour with Bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Definitely would recommend this tour. Food was fantastic especially at Leaf. Bill was soooo knowledgable learned so much about Charleston history. Put your walking shoe on. More walking Then we expected. Wanted more history about the food history and how the food developed in Charleston the area.

South End Smoke house did a great job. Came out and explained what appetizers we would have and described their own twist on the dishes. We got to meet the chef at Leaf as he explained his dishes. Not so impressed with the Italian restaurant they didnot comment on the food. Service was less tan welcoming or friendly. Kaminsky bakery was basic. Service was really slow.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodgal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Low country walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took a low country walking tour on October 16 2012. Bill was our guide and he was awesome. He was so well versed on the history of this beautiful town, it made use feel as if we had stepped back in time. We highly recommend a tour will Bill. You will love it!

Jon Marie lamb
Nashville, TN?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthwhile tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I would definitely recommend this tour. The restaurants and food were scrumptious and our tour guide Bill was very knowledgeable. Well worth the money, you will walk away full and happy :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hollygolightly201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
1 review
“We would book this tour again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This tour was fantastic. Glen has extensive knowledge about Charleston's history & delivers the information in an entertaining way. The food was amazing & plentiful. Don't make the mistake of eating lunch before the tour. Added bonus: a stop at Husks, which had a 6 month waiting list for dinner reservations. Husk isn't included on all tours, however, but don't let that stop you. All the places we went were fabulous. Really enjoyed the presentations given at each restaurant, as well. We had the misfortune of having our tour on a rainy afternoon. Who cares?! Would do this again...in the rain.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank pinkflaming0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Culinary Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Culinary Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing