We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed for 1 week. Booked executive room with a view (which we paid extra for) & king size bed but was disappointed to be allocated room in courtyard with no view & 2 beds. We were told that they did not have any other rooms but after we asked for a reduction in the room rate they suddenly found one! After this everything was fine.

Concierge (especially Laura) & bell staff all very helpful. Food good. Great location. Public areas impressive. Nice rooms.
Not quite the standard of Four Seasons but a very good city hotel with a nice ambience reflecting southern charm. Would stay here again if visiting Charleston.

Do not use the black cab company outside - they charge more than 3 times the cost of a regular cab for the same trip!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,138
    551
    244
    108
    53
See reviews for
592
1,280
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

we just came back from a trip to Charleston and stayed at the hotel because it is a sister hotel to the Windsor Court in New Orleans. The Windsor Court is one of the best hotels from a service stand point that I have ever stayed. We arrived at the Charleston Place and we were staying on the club floor, $449/night, and were told we couldn't check in until 4pm. This is contrary to what they told us when we booked the room since we were going to arrive around noon. So we decided to eat at the hotel's rest. The Palmetto. We were seated by a very pleasent man named Mike and then proceeded to wait and wait for a waiter to come take our order, in fact Mike the matre'd was the only person who ever tried to help us, finally we recieved our food which was very good. My wife and I still couldn't get a room after lunch so Mike came out to help. It took Mike to get us pushed to the front to get a room cleaned, again we are paying $449/night vs other rooms at $300. We get to the room around 3pm, 3 hrs later than expected and low and behold the a/c won't go below 72'. we handled that for 2 nights than on the third day I complained.the engineer came up and told me he would fix it(He never entered the room), at 11 that evening the temp started to climb, called the front desk and they transfered me to the rudest person at the hotel(the engineer) who said he fixed it which was nothing more than a lie. Around 12 the hotel finally offered me a room that was not on the club floor w/ no discount off the club room rate. I will never stay here again. Don't waste the money on the club room either the food was sub par and not worth the extra, we usually stay on club floors. Also the decor of the hotel wasn't the same quaility as the Windsor Court which we love. Say away from Charleston and go to New Orleans

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mphtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientx, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, June 18, 2007
As the General Manager of Charleston Place I was very disappointed to read the recent review posted by a guest from Louisiana. It seems this guest was disappointed with his stay at Charleston Place. It is also our intention to “WOW” all of our guests with the luxury and service of Charleston Place. I am sorry we were not able to do so for this particular guest during his stay.

This guest mentioned a disappointment in the Club Level and I am sorry to hear of his disappointment. Our Club Level is priced higher than our Deluxe Level rooms, but for good reason. Guests staying on the Club Level are allowed access to our Club Lounge where we serve a complimentary breakfast each morning as well as afternoon tea, evening cocktails and hors d’oeuvre, as well as desserts and cordials. There is also a personal concierge just for our Club Level guests. I believe the food and beverage that is offered in our Club Lounge is very high quality. For breakfast, we have an extensive breakfast buffet including smoked salmon and meats, cheeses, muffins, and other breakfast breads, hard boiled eggs, and a variety of cereals, yogurts, and juices. Afternoon tea includes a selection of gourmet tea sandwiches, freshly baked cakes, pastries, crumpets, and scones. Our evening hors d’oeuvre selection changes nightly, but includes several different hot and cold items for our guests staying on the Club Level.



I am sorry this guests had a challenge with the air conditioning is the guest room. Each of our guest rooms has an independent air conditioning unit that can be controlled by the guest. I apologize that this guest felt it was too warm in his guest room, but had we known of this problem the very first night of the stay, we would have had our engineering team correct the problem right away and if necessary, offer to move this guest to a different room. I do not understand why this guest did not contact us and allow us to correct the problem on the very first night of the stay. I am also sorry for any confusion, but our regular check in time is at 4pm. While we are happy to try to accommodate early arrivals, this is not always possible. Guests are always welcome to store their luggage and enjoy the hotel amenities until a room does become available. We also sent this guest two confirmation letters detailing our check in and check out policies.


I would like to thank this guest for the constructive comments and for the positive comments about the Palmetto Café. It is only through feedback like this that we can identify areas of concern and make the necessary adjustments to make sure that all our guests receive the highest level of service and our guest rooms maintain the highest level of quality. Every associate in our hotel is empowered to do what is necessary to ensure that all of our guests have a terrific stay. I feel confident that had we known about this guest's disappointment during the stay, we could have corrected the problem before he checked out. I invite him to contact us and give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed at Charleston Place for eight nights in latter May early June 2007. We had originally booked an "Historic Hotel" which was down the street and moved out after the first night. I don't care as much about a hotel's history as I do about having a closet deep enough to close the door without bending the coat hanger. The next morning we booked the remainder of the stay at the Charleston Place on the advice of a local family member. What a delightful hotel! Everything was perfect. I don't mind paying $$$$ for a hotel as along as the service and attitude keep pace with the dollar signs ALL the staff members we encountered were professional and friendly. All of our requests were met without delay. The infinity edge pool was great in the respect that it wasn't chlorinated but was treated with salt and other minerals. When I stepped out of the pool or spa my skin felt smooth and unirritated as it does with chlorine. We stayed two extra days because our flights were cancelled because of weather in Chicago and when we returned the second day from the airport, there was a pleasant surprise in our room from the manager. My wife was greeted with a package of eye soothing masks, soothing skin cream, and other relaxation products. I guess the manager thought (or knew) we'd be a little stressed missing our flights two days in a row and wanted to make that evening as comfortable as she could. Thank you very much.

In response to the person complaining about transportation. We booked
the Black Cab on our last trip to the airport and it was only twenty dollars per person. Quite reasonable to me. Try getting from SFO to the City in a cab as nice as these for less than $40! Besides, Charleston Place is so centrally located there isn't anywhere except for the airport we couldn't walk to. It's a beautiful city and walking is the way to see it.

We plan to return to Charleston next year and will definately book the Charleston Place for our entire stay.

  • Liked — The attitude of the staff
  • Disliked — that some of the staff at the breakfast cafe could be trained a little more on the aspect of speed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SHC707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We spent four days at the lovely Charleston Place hotel. We were easily checked in and ordered a plate of cheese and fruit that was quickly delivered to our room. It was excellent. The room was a decent size with ample storage space and clean-- not Ritz Carlton clean, but quite tidy. We had warm stone massages in their spa which were excellent. The massage therapists were very professional and did a wonderful job. We had Trinity and Tamara. The pool has a retractable roof and is quite stunning. It's a salt water pool, not chlorine, so we loved swimming in it! The fitness center was tiny but tidy. My only complaint would be that the volumes were not working on many of the tv monitors on the gym equipment. The women's locker room was far too small and the showers were dirty. (There were only two). For the price that you pay to stay in an Orient Express Hote, the locker room should have been clean. The service staff at the spa was a little bit disoriented, as well. It seemed as if this was a summer job for many of them. That said, the rest of our experience was really positive. We had breakfast daily at the Palmetto Cafe. The service and the food was excellent. Continental breakfast and a 15% gratuity is included. We always tipped extra because the service was so good. We'd also recommend cocktails and tapas at the Thoroughbred Club. We would definitely go back there!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The women's locker room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank enigomontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed there for our wedding night. I was just blown away by the cleanliness and professionalism......even late at night. The bellhop was there to help us at 3:00AM the morning we left for the honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kenburkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We spent a few days at the Charleston Place Hotel in April and it was every bit as wonderful as it had been on past visits. The staff members are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated,and the overall services are outstanding.The amenities offered on the club floor were an added bonus this time and certainly surpassed our expectations in quality, quantity and variety. The hotel's location is perfect for walking in the downtown Charleston area - close to historic homes, the Battery, the Aquarium, famous sites, shopping, and many wonderful restaurants to suit everyone's taste. In addition, there are fine restaurants and many shops located within the hotel itself. I would highly recommend the Charleston Place Hotel to anyone who wil be visiting the Charleston area.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNSANDOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2007

I just returned from a long weekend stay at The Charleston Place Hotel with my daughter and what a wonderful time we had. From the warm and welcoming smiles to the fantastic food, specifically the lump crab and avacado salad was fantastic,. My daughter also loved the chicken fingers. The portions are so ample. We so enjoyed the local sites, the concierge was so helpful with things to do with my daughter. The hotel is so conveniently located to shopping and restaurants.

We also took full advantage of the spa and pool. They have children's manicures and other spa treatments for my daughter and I enjoyed a relaxing and amazing facial.
The pool area was lovely and so relaxing. It was such a wonderful treat. As if the truffles on our pillows each evening and the robes were not enough.

We were also staying in a room that allowed us access to the club floor and were able to partake in wonderful continental breakfasts, and afternoon tea and more delicious treats.

With all of the food we ate it was amazing that we still had an appetite for dinner, but we did and again were very pleased.
The hotel's restaurants were fabulous.

All in all we had a wonderful stay, beautiful rooms, delicious food, wonderful spa treatments, and most importantly really nice staff. We really felt special!

  • Liked — Elegent
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing