We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

we just returned from our vacation. we stayed at the charleston place for two nights. had a lovely junior suite with a king bed, sofa, chairs, dining table and chairs, two tvs and a lovely marble bathroom/dressing room. we loved it as did our teens! son said pull out sofa was very comfortable and daughter thought the same of the rollaway (the rollaway actually fit in the dressing room so she felt like she had her own room!). fitness center and pool were great! all staff were very friendly and helpful (thank you Ted for recommending Blossoms restaurant!). lovely lobby with restaurants and shops. can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,024 - 3,030 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

Took advantage of a promo offering rooms at $205 with a $50 food and beverage credit. Rooms are very nice....we had a small balcony. Had a bottle of champagne and beautiful chocolate cake delivered to the room while we were at dinner as it was our anniversary. Enjoyed cocktails at the Thoroughbred Club off the lobby...great service and fun drinks with a piano player as a nice background. Really a classy hotel and they deliver on service and comfort. Perfect location. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We only stayed one night so we could travel to another city. What a mistake that was leaving Charleston Place! The best hotel we have ever stayed in. I wish I could live there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

As a conference that I was attending was being held in the hotel I decided to stay here, although the Charleston Place is the costliest property in this charming city. The staff is top-notch, the rooms well outfitted and the building contains a nice collection of upscale shops and restaurants.

My only quibble is that you cannot make tea or instant coffee in the room -- either you need to call room service or they'll rent you a pot for $10/day.

Other attendees tell me that the Francis Marion just down the street is a more affordable but still high class option.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We just returned from our 10th visit to Charleston Place. This is, by far, our favorite hotel. Each and every member of the staff, from General Manager Paul Stracey on down, could not be friendlier or more helpful. The level of service far exceeds anything we've experienced elsewhere. These folks know how to run a hotel! (Special thanks to Mr. Stracey, to Frank, Paul and Lindsey in the Club Level, and to Lucas and the other guys on the front door.)

We travel with our dog, and the staff could not be friendlier or more accomodating.

You cannot beat the location; it is downtown, in the historic district, steps away from most of the restaurants, shopping, and historic sites. In addition, the Charleston Grill in the hotel is one of the best restaurants in Charleston.

The hotel is so beautiful that tourists and locals alike wander through the lobby to browse the exclusive shops and enjoy the decorations and elaborate train set at Christmas time.

If you want to stay at the best hotel in Charleston (and maybe anywhere), stay at Charleston Place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNJShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Returned yesterday from a 2-day weekend break at Charleston Place.

This was my first trip to Charleston-Charleston Place was fabulous (probably ruined my expectations for all other Chareston hotels in the future)!

Every employee from the doormen and bellmen to the concierge and bar staff treated us like "rock stars" and VIP's. The staff went out of their way to be sure all needs/requests were met.

The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas (all fresh greenery-even the trees). The large train display in the main lobby added to the festive atmosphere. During the day the lobby was a bit crowded since this display is a "must" for all Charleston visitors to see.

Our room was perfect! We had a corner suite (seperate bedroom/bathroom with a large elongated living area that included a sofa seating area, a dining table, a desk, and a wet bar as well as a foyer). The bed had a down duvet and fluffy feather bed-type feel. Very luxurious! The bathroom included a large soaking tub, tiled shower, double sink furniture-style vanity, and seperate w/c.

Several nationally-known shops are located on the first floor of the hotel (ladies and mens clothing, designer handbags, gift shops), somewhat like an upscale "mini-mall." Need something nice to wear to dinner? Just a 40 foot walk from the elevator and you're in business!

The hotel is centrally located-an easy walk to many restaurants, shops (The Market is right out the "back door"), pubs, museums-no real need to get the car if you plan on staying in town and touring Charleston.

A stay at this hotel is a special treat!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McBizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Airline pilot layover. Now this is how it was back in the good ole days. You'd fly to a neat city and stay at a very nice and expensive place. For some reason, our standard hotel in town had a water problem. So, they put us up at the Charleston Place. It was almost too nice. You felt like you were visiting your mom's best friends who were very rich. I wish the airlines could go back to putting their pilots up in nice places with clean and quiet rooms where you could get a good nights sleep to combat fatigue. You do want your pilots well rested and thinking clearly? Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThisIsYourCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $317 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing