We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They went above and beyond to make us feel at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They went above and beyond to make us feel at home!”
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Our 12 year old son had just been released from a very stressful stay at the Children's Hospital in Charleston. I called to get a room for us to rest for a few days before the long drive back to Florida where we live. I explained to the person who answered our situation. THey immediatly put us through to Laura Augenblick who handles VIP's. By the way we are far from being VIP's. She set us up with a beautiful room at a great rate and then treated us to breakfast each morning on top of everything else. Also as we were resting in our beautiful room we heard a knock at the door. It was the hotel delivering a wine and cheese plate for us and a cookies and milk plate for our son!! Just amazing how above and beyond they went to make us feel at home and be able to rest. We will never forget how much that meant to us during a stressful time for our family! We hope to visit again soon, but just for fun this time!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkaufman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    542
    243
    107
    53
See reviews for
586
1,266
68
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My room was very cozy - classic decor but with modern amenities. I especially loved having the huge armoire to be able to hang all my work clothes. Bathroom was big and clean, and housekeeping restocked tolietries twice a day.

Had room service dinner twice and the food was spectacular. It was pricey, but probably one of the best room service meals I've ever had. Great she-crab soup!

Only minor complaint would be the gym hours - would be nice if it were open at 5:30-6am to better accomodate business travelers that want to squeeze in a quick workout before starting the day.

The spa was relaxing and I enjoyed a swedish massage there. Price for a massage was on par with other spas.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

My first impression was a good one. The hotel lobby is beautiful, the bell staff was prompt and welcoming, and the front desk staff was equally as warm. My visit to the lobby restroom was my first displeasure. I would consider the cleanliness and decor of the restroom more suiting to a rest stop on an interstate. The room was adequate, but not nearly worth the money. It could use a major remodeling. The pool and spa were delightful, and the restaurants were very good. Even with the location of this hotel, I would not pay more than $150 per night to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livemusic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, March 31, 2009
In response to Livemusic_8, I would like to apologize if the restroom happened to be unkempt at the time you visited. Throughout the day we have our housekeeping staff in these restrooms making sure that all supplies are replenished and that it is clean as they are also available to patrons of the lobby stores as well as guests in our Palmetto Café. That being said, I feel that one of our best resources is our guests and we can learn from their opinions. If we are told what our problems are we can correct them immediately. We pride ourselves on making your stay exactly as you would like and hope that you choose to return to our city and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Came to this hotel for a conference. It was really beautiful has been well kept. I am a light sleeper and this hotel was one of the quietest I have ever stayed in. Extremely beautiful old hotel with unmatched service. We were well taken care of during our conference. The food was good and the staff very attentive. Beware of the overly delicious cheese danish lurking about. I heard the grits were to die for as well. The rooms are nearly as unique as the hotel itself. Lots of special touches. I liked that they let you "sample" the spa items they were selling by placing them in the rooms for toiletries.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherieLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The hotel is very nice indeed, the rooms are moderate sized and comfortable, the bathrooms are fantastic, the service is remarkably personal for such a large hotel, the spa and gym very good, and the location can't be beat. I would think seriously about staying here again because the hotel really does have everything.
That said, this is not an ultra-luxury hotel. The sound proofing is dreadful, we could here everyone walking by our door and our neighbors in the next room (who did not seem to be especially loud). As noted by a previous reviewer, the person taking the room service order gave us incorrect information so 2 items were entirely different than described. Also, the hotel is huge so in the main areas there is a convention type of feel. In sum, very very nice but not quite perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orientx, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, March 5, 2009
As the General Manager of Charleston Place I was very disappointed to read the recent review posted by a user named HPRIC from Washington on Tripadvisor.

It seems this guest had some disappointment with his room service. It is always our intention to overwhelm all of our guests with the luxury and service of Charleston Place and every associate in our hotel is empowered to do what is necessary to ensure that all of our guests have a terrific stay. I feel confident that had we known about this guest's disappointment during their stay, we could have corrected the problem before they checked out.

As far as the difficulties encountered with the conference, I can only say that had we been made aware of the situation it would have been rectified immediately. This is not a typical complaint that we hear as evidenced by positive feedback from other meeting planners and attendees.

I would like to thank this guest for his/her feedback. It is only through feedback like this that we may identify areas of concern and correct them for the future. I invite this guest to contact me directly for any future reservations so we can be certain all of these issues have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed at the Charleston Place Hotel while attending a business conference for several days in mid-February. This was my first visit to Charleston, and to the hotel. It is indeed quite impressive. You should read the many positive reviews for the hotel posted on this website, as these are truly deserved by this special place. Beautiful facilities and prompt, courteous service make for an excellent stay. The location in the heart of the historic district cannot be beat. I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryWho?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I had always wanted to stay at Charleston Place, but the price tag kept me away. It can be crazy expensive to stay there. However, there were rates available in my price range this trip, so I finally got to stay there -- and was not disappointed.

Most times one does get what one pays for, and that is the case here. It's pricey for a reason, folks. Rooms are spotless and immaculately decorated, with posh beds and large baths with marble showering areas. Service is A+, with staff frequently using the guests' names as the walk around the property. Neighboring stores feature boutique-type shopping and luxury goods. The Palmetto Cafe restaurant offers the best crab salad I've ever eaten in my life. The Thoroughbred bar is full of mahogany and offers relaxing, high class ambience, as well as a fun perch for people watching. I can also highly recommend the neighboring Peninsula Grill for a fine dining experience, as we ate there and had one of the best meals I've had in Charleston. FABULOUS!

I loved my stay there. My only regret was not having time to try the hotel spa area, as the pool looked very inviting and the services available were enticing (massages, facials, etc.).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing