We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and centrally located!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and centrally located!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was fabulous!! The rooms are large and the bath has great amenities. The pool/bar are nice for relaxing in the afternoon or after a spa treatment. My only issue was the thinness of the walls. There were times when it seemed our neighbors were in our room. After staying at numerous other Charleston locations thorughout the years, I would absolutely go back to the Charleston Place regardless of the lack of soundproofing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    538
    243
    107
    53
See reviews for
581
1,258
67
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This Orient Express hotel stay was a wonderful experience for us. We wanted to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary in Charleston and picked this hotel for its rating and location. great staff, great rooms, and great location. The concierge service was exceptional and dinner at the Charleston Grill, a hotel restaurant was over the top.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masoodclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This property is in the middle of downtown Charleston. You can walk to many of the best restaurants and historical sites the city offers.
The property mixes some of the best of that time period, using plantation style mixed with modern luxury.
This hotel location is easy to miss, but well worth the effort.
The Southern hospitality and attitude was met at every encounter, refreshing and welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had been on a week long college tour through The Southeast when we realized it would be an arduous to travel 4 hours 2 ways in order to visit the College of Charleston from our stay at Biltmore Estate (inn). We were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of your city and hotel. The people of Charleston are warm and gracious and you hotel is a perfect

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 83Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great, professional staff. Made every guest feel important. Could not ask for a better location. Room was beautiful. What you would expect and more from a world class hotel. Will stay here whenever we travel to Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location. The service we received the employees was 5 stars. I couldn't have been more impressed with this hotel and stay there again in a heartbeat if I was returning to Charleston. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel and we absolutely loved it!
My wife, baby and I stayed here in late May and experienced great service and the location is perfect to being downtown, the market and all that is 'downtown' Charleston.

I will say that the room we had this time was a newly renovated one...and it was extremely clean and perfect. The last time we stayed here the room seemed outdated, we had some issues with some of the linens, etc...but experienced the total opposite this time around.

Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuggedaboudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Belmond, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing