We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Place Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of the finest hotels that I have had the pleasure to visit. It is first class in every way. We stay on the concierge level where they provide food and beverages nearly all day. The location of the hotel puts the guest in walking distance of great shopping and many historic attractions.

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge level, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 3,335 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sorry so late reviewing this wonderful hotel! We stayed here for Christmas and had the best time! The room was lovely, the restaurants are some of the best in Charleston, and we love the Thoroughbred Club Bar! This hotel has it all. It is located near everything that you could possibly want to do in Charleston!
There are nice shops inside the hotel, and right outside the hotel is all of the nicest stores in town. The hotel was decorated so nicely for Christmas too!
We won't stay anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street that all the shops are on (can't remember the name of the street) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupcake0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

You know you have arrived at a hotel that fits the whole old elegance of Charleston upon arrival. The marble entrance with two spiral staircases are wonderful. But the great experience does not stop there, it has modern touches in the room like a shower with multiple outlets (but I had a hard time figuring out how to use it at first). The staff was wonderful, really a great experience. And the rate was actually reasonable.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for queen or king size beds, I got full size beds by accident since I did not specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Lovely appointed, clean and spacious rooms with spacious shower/tub. Staff is absolutely friendly and helpful! I recollect especially wonderful service from: Larry at Concierge, Stephen Stubbs in banquet service staff, John at Bell Stand and Kyle in Palmetto for breakfast service. Superb! Food is great at both Palmetto and Charleston Grill. The hotel is in a great location and I enjoyed walking in the area. The only things I found a little annoying for me personally: I wish there was better lighting available in the room, and the chair seemed too low for the desk making it uncomfortable to work on my laptop. Also have to mention the really comfortable bed and pillows! I did visit the spa, which felt a little "clinical" and basic in design, however I got the best massage I have had in the past 20 years, from Thelma!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TisaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would. Reception was not as well attended as I would have expected for an Orient Express hotel. It took a long time to be able to settle with the cabbie as his credit card machine wouldn't swipe, so by the time we were ready to enter, the doorman had moved away (not to another arrival) and we had to maneuver our bags and the heavy door. The room assignment was a spacious king deluxe and a small functional balcony that overlooked Meeting and Market Streets. Bed was a little too firm for me, but we were in the older part of the hotel which suited me just fine. Bathroom spacious enough. We were with a 2 day conference and the meeting area(the Pavilion) was a good size for our group of 25 or so. The shops in the lobby were upscale and the exercise area was decent. The hot tub jets didn't work, but the water was hot.
The biggest drawback is I'm used to a small coffee maker in ANY hotel, and there was none. When you have to get out to a meeting, the lack of a cup of coffee is significant! And paying room service for a pot of coffee for 2 would have been over $20. Not reasonable to me.
The staff were nice and helpful otherwise. It was clean and I liked the worn Oriental rug look personally. I think it gives it character.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific bed accommodation which was available, and I forgot until too late. I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celticcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It’s only fair to tell you that our prejudice is for small luxury resorts, which Charleston Place certainly is not. What it is however is a superbly run large hotel that delivers excellent service from a top-notch well trained staff. The property, as many have pointed out, is a bit tired and if it were not in the middle of a facelift, I might have thought twice before giving it five stars, The “bones’ of the property are excellent though – wide hallways, ample quiet rooms, and excellent facilities - so once the refurbishment is complete, there really will be very little to think about. From its service to its amenities to its underlying desire to pamper and please - this is very much a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Charleston Place is a beautiful property, right in the heart of Charleston. Within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants , right at Market Street and five minutes from the water. The rooms - I stayed in one of the renovated rooms - are sleek and comortable, plenty of room and all the amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,027 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,968 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $341 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing