We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were impressed with Charleston Place from the time I called and talked to the reservationist to driving up to check in. The overall friendliness of the whole staff will bring us back again to this lovely hotel in Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,332 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was highly disappointed that my request to have the pack and play set up in the room was not honored despite calling ahead to make the hotel aware of our extremely late arrival because of plane delays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Namrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Namrita K,

We are sorry to hear that your pack and play was not set up ahead of time for your room, but we hope you enjoyed the one that was provided after your arrival. We apologize for any inconvenience, and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 4 nights here as part of a very large conference group around New Year's 2013-2014. We definitely would come back here if we were coming to Charleston and recommend it highly for those looking for a top-tier hotel, in terms of location, infrastructure, service. It is not inexpensive by any means but we felt we got good value for the price.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and drew many visitors for the miniature train display. as well as for the luxury-goods shopping available in the adjoining arcades. It felt very safe, nonetheless.

Our room was fine. It had been newly redone and so there were a few glitches (Elsafe needed initializing as did the TV) but those were handled cheerfully and effectively, literally in minutes. The king bed was amazingly comfortable and the TV was brand-new. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower (no tub) and ample vanity and storage areas. The only slight negative was that the room lights were a little dim for reading.

The location was ideal for walking to any of the sights in town--aquarium, Fort Sumter trips, historic homes, waterfront, market..no need for a car unless you are driving anyway or want to rent one for a day to sightsee outside town.

The staff, from front desk to housekeeping to concierge were great. Friendly, cheerful, efficient, effective. Everyone made us feel they truly appreciated our business and were glad we were staying there. (You might think, well of course, but we have stayed in places at similar price points where staff acted like they were doing you a favor...)

The concierge, Larry, did a patient and creative job exploring options for us to sight-see on New Year's Day (many things closed, car rentals complicated) and his recommendation for Linda Sanders' private tour (her company is
www.charlestonsctours.com) was spot on and we had a great afternoon with her (see my review). We used Marquis Limos for the airport transfers and they were excellent, well worth the premium over taxi fare.

The day we arrived, we had lunch at one of the hotel restaurants--Thoroughbred Club, the bar. We had she-crab soup and crabcakes and champagne; these were very good, but quite expensive per item, compared to other restaurants in town (82 Queen, Husk, Cypress).

The real stars of the show for our stay were the banquet/catering staff. Our group was huge (filled the hotel) and we all ate during a 60-90 minute window, with most people showing up right at the start. Serving hot, fresh, delicious food on buffet lines to some 1400 people is no easy thing to do, but Charleston Place did it and did it well. They clearly are expert at logistics, opening additional lines as the crowd grew, replenishing items, etc. They were also very attentive clearing away used plates and cutlery, replenishing beverages, etc. Plus, the food was delicious...far and away surpassing most "conference food" I've had. They had their own pastry chef, and each lunch and dinner had different desserts, rolls,etc. Great attention to detail, and done with a smile. First-rate event management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed here several times and each time I am more and more pleased with the stay. You can't beat the value for the luxury--no doubt! The hotel is beautiful and the 5 star restaurant is off the moon. We love the staff, the shopping and location! The rooms are beautiful and relaxing--absolutely no noise in the rooms. The beds are a dream to sleep in. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Charleston even for a night!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexcharles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Welcomed by the beautifully decorated lobby and smiling faces. Right in the center of the hustle and bustle of historic downtown Charleston, this is the perfect place to stay with kids. The pool provided much-desired playtime for the kids (and downtime for mom!). Don't miss the opportunity to have a massage by Joshua, it is absolute heaven! Room service is, as expected, very expensive and an order of pancakes/bacon could easily be enjoyed by two children. I had assumed a hotel of this level would have a mini fridge in the room but it did not. Disclosure: I did not inquire if one was available for rent since I was only there for one night (unfortunately). They may want to keep a closer eye on the pool area for cleanliness but that is really the only negative comment I have for Charleston Place. I would have appreciated vending machines for snacks as opposed to the expensive ones available in the room. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikensheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked through Amex Platinum Concierge and received a $100 voucher for food and drinks. Was upgraded from a standard two queen room to a senior suite with great views. Staff was friendly; the hotel provided us transportation to upper King St. Amex Platinum also got us a 4pm checkout, which was very much appreciated.

Beautiful hotel, great food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my 15th visit to this hotel. The rooms are lovely, public spaces are grand and the staff really tries. I prefer the club floor rooms. The exercise room is small but pool is nice. A great place to hang out

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DrjessB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,023 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,961 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $341 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing