We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. Upon arriving we were greated immediately. Proceeded to check in and got two surprises. First they congratulated the birthday person. Second, they gave us an upgrade from a junior suite to a full suite. The room was very large and well appointed. The in house restaurant, Charleston Grill, is flat out great. Do not miss going there for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rscast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear rscast,

We are so honored that you and your group chose to celebrate a birthday with us. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at both the hotel and the Charleston Grill. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,178
    558
    247
    108
    54
See reviews for
607
1,301
69
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a large 20 something year old hotel with friendly staff and good business facilities. It is perfectly adequate in all regards except the usual poor quality overpriced breakfast typical of large scale morning catering in these places. There is a very good diner just over the street however ..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Richard,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with the friendly staff and business center. We are sorry to hear that your breakfast was not what you expected, however, we do appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Room is confortable with two confortable chais and a view of downtown Charleston. The Club level has food, wine and a full bar from 7 am until 10 pm everyday. The level of service by the staff was second to none. Great base to enjoy Charleston. This has been my 3rd trip to the Charleston Place Hotel and all have been perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSW37601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sterling,

First let me thank you for being a loyal guest, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay so much that you have returned for a third time! We are also happy that you had a delightful time on the Club Level and that the service was above and beyond your expectations. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Efficient, friendly staff. Immaculately maintained public areas and rooms. Easy walk to all the sights and restaurants south of Market St. Conveniently located to main roads for short trips to barrier islands or plantations.

Eric, the concierge, knows anything you'd care to know about the city. Treat yourself to the Club Level. You can't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Damon,

We could not be happier that you so enjoyed your time at Charleston Place and on the Club Level. We also appreciate when a guest can pinpoint an employee who made their stay particularly special, as we pride ourselves on providing the best service possible. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, immaculate room, attentive service, swanky bar. Gave me upgrade without being asked. Very cute check-in guy couldn't stop smiling. Beautiful fountains and great toiletries in room. Plus fragrance in lobby is intoxicating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Soccerdad2,

It sounds like you really enjoyed your time at Charleston Place, from the great location to the fantastic Thoroughbred Club bar. Thank you for your list of favorites, we truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Charleston Place and the location was perfect for us. You can walk to many attractions and restaurants - and there is valet parking or a parking lot next door if you rent a car. It is about 14 dollars for parking a day. The hotel restaurants are good and the staff is very courteous.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. Turndown every night.
I strongly recommend the hotel- we will go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvshoes0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear luvshoes0623,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Charleston Place and that you found our staff courteous and our rooms spacious. It sounds like you were also able to enjoy our location in the heart of downtown. Thank you for recommending us and your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lewis Booth - Bell Stand Manager was able to arrange same day transportation to a restaurant for a large group. His willingness to help and take on this last minute request is indicative of the service our group has experienced during our meeting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Bob,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Charleston Place for your group meeting. And we always appreciate when guests can pinpoint particular employees who exceed their expectations, as we pride ourselves on providing the best service possible. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,709 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing