We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our group of 26 recently stayed at the Charleston Place hotel for a 3 day business meeting. Both the service and amenities were excellent and I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherC2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    551
    244
    108
    54
See reviews for
593
1,282
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed at Charleston Place several times as a convenient midway stop on our way to our from Florida. The hotel has old Southern charm, the best of Charleston hospitality and every amenity one could ask for. On one occasion the hotel experienced a surprisingly tight booking situation due to a big meeting and our pre-booked (and paid) room was not available: we got upgraded - to the Presidential Suite! Needless to say that it was spectacular, but the regular rooms are spacious and luxurious as well. The hotel is in close walking distance to the best of Chatleston attractions. Staff is wonderful, concierge services are superb, and everything is wonderfully well maintained. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schultheiss1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night at the Charleston Place hotel. The overall experience was disappointing especially if you consider the price we paid for this stay.
Upon arrival the porter was very friendly and helpful. The front desk clerk was not very friendly. Despite the fact that American Express guaranteed early check in when we made our reservation one of our rooms was not ready. They took our phone number and were to call us when the room was to be ready. They called the wrong number!! After we waited for several hours we finally got our second room. Rooms were ok. My laptop screen was bigger than the tv in one of the rooms! The internet was slow and unreliable. The small pool was not enough for all the guests, neither was the exercise room! One of the beds in the room was worn and slanted towards the night table. Room service was excellent. It was a brief stay, needless to say, next time we come to Charleston, we are going to try another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impartia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Customer service was wonderful! We received an upgrade to a king room with a balcony when we arrived. The first night of our stay we were surprised with a complementary bottle of champagne, a delicious cake and a sweet card for our Anniversary. The room was beautiful and quiet. The pool on the 4th floor was relaxing and so were the saunas in the dressing rooms. The location can NOT be beat. We walked everywhere. I would certainly make a return visit to this hotel! So impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAmusic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a huge hotel with entrances on both Market and King streets. The problem that we found is that it's also a mall with 15+ mall shops, so there is a constant stream of shoppers flowing through the hotel. It feels very impersonal and frankly, very off-putting. Given its size and the layout, you rarely see anyone who works in the hotel unless you go up to the concierge desk - which is fine, but for an upscale and expensive hotel, I expect excellent service (holding doors, etc). The pool area is on the 4th floor in an area that's sort of indoor/outdoor and it feels like a sauna. The rooms have a charming Charleston-feel decor, but ours was very small and over-stuffed with furniture. There was a table in the room with all of mini-bar items stacked end to end on it. We kept running into it and had to move it against the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very nice stay last week with my adult daughter. Had club room amenities, which was wonderful. Front door staff were great. Hayes and Bennis were very helpful! A service "lifes a beach" was recommended to us to take my daughter and me to the beach. "Lifes abeach " was a wonderful service, drove us to the beach , gave us chairs, a cooler with ice, towels and sunscreen. If you are in charlston and want to go to the beach this is a perfect affordable service. The hotel was comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Would give 5 stars but the Concierge service was unhelpful. I was surprised by that. That being said the door/bell staff had a great deal of knowledge. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andipanda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the third time over the years that we have stayed at the Charleston place, and it did not disappoint. The rooms was spacious and comfortable, the staff was pleasant and welcoming, and the restaurants and bar outstanding. You can't beat the convenience of stepping outside the hotel doors to be in the middle of King St and steps away from anything and everything you'd want to do. It's also dog-friendly! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing