We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Epitome of Southern Elegance and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Epitome of Southern Elegance and Charm”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

If you come to Charleston, the ONLY place to stay is Charleston Place. The ambience is elegant without being pretentious, and the hospitality is just downright friendly. Brenna in Registration and Larry in Concierge treated us like family in their kindness and efficiency. Love, love, love this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    551
    244
    108
    54
See reviews for
593
1,282
68
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel has a very traditional style, the room was charming and the beds were comfortable. The location is excellent for exploring Charleston. City market and the horse drawn carriage tours are all a close walk. The concierge booked many dinners for us and they were all excellent. We spent 1 morning in the spa, we enjoyed our treatments, but the spa is older and could use a facelift. We had lunch by the pool afterwards, it was very peaceful and the food was good. The hotel was extremely busy, book your room early. The trolley picks up just across the street, near Starbucks, which also makes for easy exploring of the city. We loved our visit to Charleston, such a friendly and beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4avacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A comfortable and relaxing stay, with a touch of Southern charm. The location is great, right downtown for a carriage ride or some tourist shopping. The service was really good, friendly and efficient at getting us checked in, getting us a ride to the airport, etc. We loved getting a different sweet with the turn-down service each night. We took a van from the airport which was $12 to the hotel (about 20 mins late at night), but curiously the same van line charged us $30 to go to the airport (about 35 mins during the day). In any case, we didn’t feel like we needed a car, and when we opted to go boating, we arranged to be picked up and got in contact with a local outfitter. We didn’t get a car, and in general, if you’re hanging out downtown, you really don’t need one—plenty of things to do in Charleston.

Because the location is so great, it means you can run around and tour the city and come back in when it’s too hot outside. There are nice shops in the hotel, and the concierge has great recommendations for local restaurants. The room we were in was decorated tastefully and very clean, really comfortable. The bathroom was clean, and roomy, with plenty of fluffy towels and a great soap products. There are some small nice things, like complimentary shoe shine (we forgot to get our shoes done, though). We had a feather-free room and ordered this ahead of time with no problems. The sun is very strong in Charleston and the blackout curtains were very handy in helping us get a good night’s rest.

It's rather pricey, but it's a great level of service with quality decor in the rooms and a very central location. Is it worth it? Only you can tell, but I really enjoyed the stay.

The business center isn’t anything fancy, but there is a friendly and helpful staff member there to help you out when you’re ready to print up your boarding pass.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The room wasn't anything to write home about but the hotel was exactly what you're paying for, extremely clean, attentive staff other than the front desk, excellent location! The spa was too expensive for us but the salt water pool and shops kept us entertained. Great stay, we will recommend to friends and will return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandKtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was this a 2 star not really, more like a 3 star but it is the game if expectations. I expected the Orient Express to deliver a luxury property and they deliverer a 450 room convention hotel built in 1986 as an Omni.
The lobby was grand, the service good, the indoor/outdoor pool on the 4th floor was a welcome relief dorm the muggy weather, but the rooms were What one would expect at a Courtyard or Fairfield Inn, not an Orient Express. (They were the same size as the Splendido before Orient Express closed the hotel and redid it, and that is the Splendido in glorious Porto Fino)
The rooms were so small there was not room for a minibar; no coffee maker or expresso machine and the TV screen is bigger on my laptop.
The bath crammed in 2 sinks but not much else and no separate. Shower.
This experience is going to make me look twice at future properties and not just accept if it Orient express it must be good.
My advise t the company; dump the priority and go back to your roots.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Venamo,

While we are glad you were able to enjoy our grand lobby and rooftop pool, we are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The room layout and furniture are designed to reflect the ancestry of Charleston. Though we are sorry the room was not what you expected, we do appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at Charleston Place many times and have never been disappointed. Customer service is outstanding from beginning to end whether you are on the Club Floor or any other floor. The rooms are always clean and comfortable with lovely amenities. The location of the hotel is perfect....surrounded by many restaurants of all types and great shopping. We recently celebrated our anniversary at Charleston Place and as usual, were made to feel special. An "anniversary cake" and bottle of champagne were sent to our room upon arrival. Everyone on staff is very good at what they do. Each return visit is like going to see friends. During our last stay two people stood out; Leaha at the lobby bell station and Bonita, a server in Palmetto Cafe. Both are warm, friendly and professional. We can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pros:

Great location for shopping and dining.

Nicely decorated, comfortable rooms. his and her wardrobe closets, robes, slippers, comfortable beds, marble bathroom with great amenities.

Rooms were clean and I only heard noise from hallway not from other rooms.

Great customer service.

Nice pool area with bar grill at poolside. Retractable roof.

We stayed on the club level. Even though most of the food was snack size, there was enough variety to satisfy us. We did not eat out during our stay. Unlimited cocktails and beverages for most of the day 12p-10pm if you stay on club level. Bartender was pleasant and the servers as well.

There are high end shops on the 1st floor and what looks like great restaurants. King street is just out the side exit and the streets are lined with shopping.

Parking directly across a private driveway into hotel at $14 a day (easy access is a pro, price is a con, but I think almost standard in this area of Charleston)

heating/air unit worked not sure that the fan was working but the temp was easy to adjust

Ou room faced the courtyard , no street noise

Cons:

An extra $15 a day for valet parking. Total of $29 . The parking lot is literally 30 feet away. Very
unreasonable price!

Nice hotel, but overpriced. Club level can run over $400 a night . Even with all the free food and drinks, it's not worth that much. It should include a nice dinner at one of their restaurants, unlimited water taxi pass, a spa treatment , carriage ride or free parking. I might feel better about the price. But, it was our anniversary so, we splurged.

Not much of a view, but that's might be due to location. I imagine the view would be better closer to the water.

Small cramped gym. Good equipment, just not enough room to work out. And not sure why it was designed so that you can only access the gym or pool through the spa where someone stops you and asks you to sign in. I mean really. Either require me to swipe my room key or leave me be.

Concierge was helpful, but despite my asking on three different occasions what the best way to get to the waterfront to catch the watertaxi or get on our cruise, no one told us that there is a FREE trolley that could take us there. There is bus stop across from the hotel on the Meeting Street and King street side, just look for the green CARTA signs. I was told that they run three different routes and they run until 9pm.

No free bottled water or fridge in rooms. Not even on club level.

Room Tip: IF you can afford club level, go for it. 4th floor hallway gets a lot of traffic because it is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,799 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing