We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Charleston Place
Nearby Hotels
$257
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$288
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$247
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$139
$129
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,377)
Filter reviews
3,377 results
Traveler rating
2,355
587
256
121
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,355
587
256
121
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpalmetto cafethoroughbred clubretractable roofbeautiful hotelrenovated roomroom serviceluxury hotelsouthern charmjunior suiterooftop poolking streetbell staffthe concierge levelturn down servicefitness centerheart of downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,345 - 2,350 of 3,377 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at Charleston Place many times and have never been disappointed. Customer service is outstanding from beginning to end whether you are on the Club Floor or any other floor. The rooms are always clean and comfortable with lovely amenities. The location of the hotel is perfect....surrounded by many restaurants of all types and great shopping. We recently celebrated our anniversary at Charleston Place and as usual, were made to feel special. An "anniversary cake" and bottle of champagne were sent to our room upon arrival. Everyone on staff is very good at what they do. Each return visit is like going to see friends. During our last stay two people stood out; Leaha at the lobby bell station and Bonita, a server in Palmetto Cafe. Both are warm, friendly and professional. We can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pros:

Great location for shopping and dining.

Nicely decorated, comfortable rooms. his and her wardrobe closets, robes, slippers, comfortable beds, marble bathroom with great amenities.

Rooms were clean and I only heard noise from hallway not from other rooms.

Great customer service.

Nice pool area with bar grill at poolside. Retractable roof.

We stayed on the club level. Even though most of the food was snack size, there was enough variety to satisfy us. We did not eat out during our stay. Unlimited cocktails and beverages for most of the day 12p-10pm if you stay on club level. Bartender was pleasant and the servers as well.

There are high end shops on the 1st floor and what looks like great restaurants. King street is just out the side exit and the streets are lined with shopping.

Parking directly across a private driveway into hotel at $14 a day (easy access is a pro, price is a con, but I think almost standard in this area of Charleston)

heating/air unit worked not sure that the fan was working but the temp was easy to adjust

Ou room faced the courtyard , no street noise

Cons:

An extra $15 a day for valet parking. Total of $29 . The parking lot is literally 30 feet away. Very
unreasonable price!

Nice hotel, but overpriced. Club level can run over $400 a night . Even with all the free food and drinks, it's not worth that much. It should include a nice dinner at one of their restaurants, unlimited water taxi pass, a spa treatment , carriage ride or free parking. I might feel better about the price. But, it was our anniversary so, we splurged.

Not much of a view, but that's might be due to location. I imagine the view would be better closer to the water.

Small cramped gym. Good equipment, just not enough room to work out. And not sure why it was designed so that you can only access the gym or pool through the spa where someone stops you and asks you to sign in. I mean really. Either require me to swipe my room key or leave me be.

Concierge was helpful, but despite my asking on three different occasions what the best way to get to the waterfront to catch the watertaxi or get on our cruise, no one told us that there is a FREE trolley that could take us there. There is bus stop across from the hotel on the Meeting Street and King street side, just look for the green CARTA signs. I was told that they run three different routes and they run until 9pm.

No free bottled water or fridge in rooms. Not even on club level.

Room Tip: IF you can afford club level, go for it. 4th floor hallway gets a lot of traffic because it is the only access to the spa, pool and gym.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Everything about our stay at Charleston Place made our vacation memorable. From the moment that we pulled up to the moment we left, we were treated to wonderful customer service. This hotel is in the perfect central location to enjoy everything that Charleston. Our room was clean and peacful with very little noice. We will definately plan our next trip to the area with a stay at Charleston Place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights on the club level, where there's the added bonus of complimentary food almost all day long (breakfast till 10:30, wine & cheese from 11-3, tea from 3-4:30, hors d’oeuvres from 5-7, and desserts from 8-10)! There's also a full bar available, staffed by very friendly bar tenders. The food does get a bit repetitive over the course of a few days, but that may actually be a good thing - we were tempted to skip out on some restaurant visits because there was so much food here!

The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable- though on the very soft side. Not too much of a view even from the top floors.

We tried the spa services - a massage and facial - and both got top marks...very enjoyable.

The hotel is very centrally located, and the staff is very pleasant. Yes, it's expensive (as most hotels in Charleston are) but it's a decadent treat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipali333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is really no better city in the world than Charleston and Charleston Place is the perfect spot to expore it from. Smack dab in the middle of the city, located within walking or pedi cab distance of some of the best shopping and eating in the world, it doesn't get much better than this. The service is always impeccable at this hotel. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happinnessistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews