We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Charleston Place
Nearby Hotels
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$281
$229
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,378)
Filter reviews
3,378 results
Traveler rating
2,356
587
256
121
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,356
587
256
121
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpalmetto cafethoroughbred clubretractable roofbeautiful hotelrenovated roomroom serviceluxury hotelsouthern charmjunior suiterooftop poolking streetbell staffthe concierge levelturn down servicefitness centerheart of downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,382 - 2,387 of 3,378 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a nice hotel, I just don't think it is worth the price. The location is excellent, the concierge was wonderful and the lobby impressive. The Palmetto breakfast was great. However, the room itself was mediocre. The King room was small. There is no closet, only an armoir which was so small I could not hang my garment bag as the armoir was not high enough. The TV was small small and probably about 20 inches.

I went to the Gym/Spa at 600pm after a long day. A sign outside the spa said there was an event scheduled from 7-10pm. They would not let me in for a quick workout at 6:00 as they were "setting up". I asked the front desk to ask another nearby hotel to let me use their gym. They would not help and suggested I go for a jog. Not what I expect at $500/night. We left a day early and went to Kiawah Resort instead

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Joseph,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a majority of your stay with the exception of a few important issues. The hotel, located in the heart of downtown, was furnished and designed to reflect the ancestry of Charleston but I do regret that your room did not meet your needs. As for the gym, I am sorry that you were unaware of the charity event taking place in the gym and pool area the night of your stay. While we are unhappy that we did not fully meet your expectations, we truly appreciate your positive and constructive feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Charleston Place Hotel is a fabulous hotel in the perfect location in downtown Charleston. All roads literally do lead to the Charleston Place Hotel so you can never get lost! Service is top notch and the gorgeous lobby sets the stage for a wonderful stay. The rooms are well appointed and have that Southern charm that you would expect for this area. Everyone from the Bell Staff to the Front Desk to the charming restaurant staff greet you will a warm smile and are always ready to assist.

Can't wait to return next time on holiday I hope!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmacdon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have enjoyed this comfortable oasis a few times over 3 years. The welcoming bellstaff and accommodating front desk personnel are attentive and set the tone. The rooms are always comfortable,clean and quiet. Room service is fast and delicious as you would expect.
Upgrading is highly recommended for the value. The 8th floor hospitality room is worth it , with excellent staff, hors d'oeuvres and a quiet environment.
The spa at Charleston Place is among the best we've experienced in the USA.
The Charleston Grill , in the hotel, is an excellent dining option,(check the reviews). Ask about the AAA $50 dining certificate, and have your AAA card available.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 7th floor away from elevator..request 8th floor access. Higher floors have great elevator service and are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have stayed here a few times over the past. Went to Charleston for a 4 day weekend. Hotel is right at entrance to the Market on the east side and the shopping district on the west side. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

8th floor attendant Etherton made an already wonderful experience... BETTER ! His service, attn to detail, courtesy, etc., unsurpassed. If I owned a hotel, I would steal him away without question. He is so good, he should be training others.

Room Tip: Get for 7 or 8 Club Lounge extras are some of the best anywhere!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andro90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews