We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Reviews are Correct, Great Place and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The Reviews are Correct, Great Place and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just stayed with the Family at the Charleston Place. We had a very nice stay. The hotel is a large property but elegant. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which worked great for my daughter. The suite had two thermostats which made it easy for my daughter to set her own temperature, which is usually much warmer than my wife and I. The pool, locker room and fitness center were great, very clubby. The breakfast place, Palmetto café had a nice buffet. We also ate that Charleston Grill. It was excellent and the service was superb. We rally liked our assistant waiter, Hank! The location of this property of this property is right in the middle of it all at Meeting St. and Market St.. This was our first trip to Charleston and I would highly recommend Charleston Place.

Room Tip: The parking garage is very close if you dont need Valet Parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    505
    229
    105
    53
See reviews for
542
1,177
65
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I went here for a convention and my wife joined me. They upgraded our room, and my wife had a great spa experience (although she says the interior of the spa is rather poor in relation to the services). Our convention was ~500 people, and food was actually extremely good. Clean, comfortable room, and quiet. Centrally located. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blewis1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Charleston Place again over Martin Luther King weekend, and had a fantastic time. The hotel is gorgeous, the room was always clean, and the staff is simply the best. A guest really couldn't ask for anything more. I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my second stay at Charleston Place hotel and I would choose it again if I return to the city. Not only is the location perfect, the club floor accommodations offer great value for your money. With continental breakfast and a generous spread of hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon and again in the early evening. The rooms are bright and spacious and you feel like you are in a fancy Charleston home. We also dined at Charleston Grill during our stay - something we missed on our previous trip - and were very impressed not only with the cuisine but also the service and live jazz. Service overall is definitely a high point at the hotel - whether I was walking in the front door, passing a housekeeper in the hall, or asking a question at the front desk - I was always warmly greeting and treated like a V.I.P. One my favourites!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a club floor room - the extra amenities are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

During a recent visit to Charleston, SC my wife and i had the pleasure of staying at Charleston Place. The room was immaculate and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean. A staff member was always to be found and were friendly and helpful when needed. Overall during our stay we felt comfortable and at home in the surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 882ChrisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Shared a wonderful two night stay with my wife at the Charleston Place Hotel over the holiday weekend. Despite being fully booked, the service was, as always, top notch. Check in was friendly and painless and our room was wonderfully clean and extremely comfortable, the beds being hands down, the most comfy of any hotel I've ever stayed at. The location of the hotel could not be more perfect, the heart of downtown Charleston, central to everything including shopping, restaurants, and site seeing. Having stayed at The Charleston Place several times, we have always found the staff to be extremely courteous and always attentive to the guests needs. The Spa is wonderful and extremely well managed with exceptional treatments available. I had the opportunity to have the Moroccan hot oil scalp massage which was pure heaven. The recently renovated Palmetto Cafe has an outstanding buffet breakfast which, weather permitting, can be enjoyed in their beautiful garden courtyard. For my money, The Charleston Place is the ultimate for hospitality and service when visiting Charleston. I recommended it to all of my friends who visit Charleston and none have been disappointed. It will continue to be my only choice for a hotel when visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Lanny,

We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend. We appreciate your feedback as reviews like these help us to better understand which amenities and hotel features guest enjoy. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When I want to get away and feel like I've step back in time where manners are important, tradition is honored and history comes alive I go the The Charleston Place Hotel. It is our family's favorite place to stay, I believe I've lost count as to how many times we've been and it NEVER disappoints! The staff is so friendly and helpful, the food is delicious and the Spa is oooohhh so relaxing, a real treat!
I have sent several friends here who have all said the same thing its an incredible place that draws you back. Go!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Rosalie,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We are so glad that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us and continue to build memories at our hotel. And thank you for referring us to your friends! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,513 reviews
Planters Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing