We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Weekend without a Hitch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Engagement Weekend without a Hitch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel for our 5 year anniversary and surprised me with an engagement/family weekend. Both of our families stayed the weekend was wonderful. The staff was friendly, our room as clean and nicely decorated. The location couldn't have been more ideal. Definitely a splurge but sometimes it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    531
    242
    105
    53
See reviews for
572
1,240
66
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed a very brief stay at Charleston Place. Unfortunately, I can't comment on the Spa this time, only on the accommodations, service and one of the restaurants.

Positives:
1) Location downtown in the heart of shopping, dining, sightseeing, and historic district. Most things are totally walkable from Charleston Place.
2) Since we made reservations through AMEX FHR program, we were upgraded on arrival to a suite. The suite was roomy and luxurious with a living area and king bedroom. The bathroom had a nice bathtub and walk in marble shower with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
3) Shopping and dining inside the hotel: Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Tommy Bahama, Everything but Water, Fresh Produce, St. John, Godiva Chocolates, and several more.
4) Service was friendly and helpful
5) Lunch at the newly renovated Palmetto Cafe was pricey but fantastic! We had a food & beverage credit that we used for lunch. The courtyard/patio was being worked on while we were there.

Negatives (although somewhat minor)
1) WiFi didn't work very well for us, perhaps this is an anomaly?
2) The lobby and shopping thoroughfare can get very crowded on weekends as it connects two main north/south routes through town and tourists like to gawk at the hotel and shops.
3) I used the front desk four times during our stay, and there was always a line.

I would recommend Charleston Place to anyone looking for a splurge or special stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very European hotel (including dogs all over) in the deep south. Operated by Orient Express, this beautiful property brings to mind the finer hotels of Europe. This time however there were some problems during the stay (my second). I again had a suite and a connecting room. The bathtub of the connecting room was clogged up, the mattress on the suit was lumpy and I felt itchy all night....the dogs? The suite was very small and had a large bathroom with tub, toilet, shower and two sinks which sat right in the middle of the suite! You have to walk around the thing to get around! I tried using the sofa bed for my granddaughter but the mattress was also kaput. We had to order a convertible bed. At $1,210 a night this is completely inadmissible and a cheap bottle of bubbly will not make up for it ......................Sayonara!............................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EJGMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you ran into some issues during your second stay with us. I would like to apologize for the disappointment in with the layout of your suite. I truly wish we had known that you were not pleased with your room before you checked out. Had we known you were not satisfied, we would have gladly moved you to a different room. We have several different rooms with different configurations and I am confident we could have found one that was to your liking. As for the maintenance issues, we staff 24-hour housekeeping and engineering teams that are on-site to help solve problems like the ones you experienced. I am sorry we were not able to assist with the issues you encountered. You will be happy to hear that we have just replaced the mattresses in every room. While we are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations, we certainly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were there in Feb. and were fortunate to have very nice weather for walking, and walking, and walking this beautiful city. The Hotel is among the nicest in town, with a staff that seemed eager to please. I didn't notice any of the needed 'updating' some others have mentioned. Our room had a nice view and was very clean. The restaurants and bars are first class ( and they charge 1st class prices ). Access by car is very easy, and if you are seeing any of the attractions out of the city it is very easy to get on or off the freeway. All and all a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wstphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

In Charleston on business for a couple of nights. It had been a number of years since I'd stayed here and was looking forward to it. The hotel is located within walking distance to just about anywhere you'd want to go about town. You can actually self park your car in garage adjacent hotel operated by the city, which I think is a nice option. Also, you're not gouged like at many hotels. Probably because hotel does not own it. Anyway, staff very nice and attentive with restaurant recommendations etc. What really struck me was how much the old place was showing her age. Carpets worn, drapes dingy etc. The worst was how LOUD the ac was cutting on and off. Actually woke me up at times. I couldn't even have the fan run continuously. The cheap radio/alarm clock did not even have a sleep feature that cut music off after some time. Disappointing and not what I would expect from an Orient Express property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyLongboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We appreciate you sharing feedback on your stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you are a return guest, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your most recent experience. We strive for our rooms to reflect the ancestry of Charleston while still providing the most up to date accommodations. With this said, it sounds like you may have had a faulty AC unit. I am sorry we not have the opportunity to address this issue while you were on property. We do have a 24 hour engineering team and we encourage our guests to let us know if they have any issues during their stay. While we are disappointed to hear you had issues during your stay, we appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope you will choose to stay at Charleston Place on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had adjoining rooms and both were nicely updated. The a/c was a bit loud, and always on, but even though I'm a light sleeper it didn't really bother me. The staff was first rate and exceptional. From making the reservations to check in to my son accidentally locking himself out of his room, to the service at the restaurant and the bar, it was all smooth as silk. It's what a great hotel aspires to be. I'd be tempted to give it an "Excellent" except that I have to reserve that for an "OMG!"

Room Tip: We were almost right above the very busy car entrance (5th Floor) and never heard a single noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Charleston Place is charming and unique. The front desk was exceptionally nice, and the concierge only seemed to happy to satisfy our needs. Our room was a suite on the third floor, it had a parlor area with a pull-out couch and a large bedroom. The only downside was that the bedroom, although quite big, did not have a window. Th lobby is magnificent, and the location can not be beat. This was my third time returning here, and hopefully a fourth time will be in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing