We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parlor Suite is fit for royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Parlor Suite is fit for royalty!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group felt like royalty at the Charlston Place Hotel this past weekend. We had a group of 8 in town for a Bachelorette Party. We reserved the 3-room Parlor Suite. It was absolutely perfect, fully out-fitted with 3 full bathrooms and a very large wet bar. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Our only complaint is that they probably should upgrade their pull-out couches, they don't compare at all to the beds, very uncomfortable. The service was impeccable and we would all love to return! The location could not have been better.

Room Tip: The parlor suite with 2 joined bedrooms is perfect for a group of eight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelIsKey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,205
    563
    249
    109
    54
See reviews for
618
1,313
69
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have enjoyed Thanksgiving at The Charleston Place two years in a row and find the Club level service excellent. We love the constantly updated snacks and treats. The furnishings are a bit dated and in need of upgrades so I hope they will bring old school up to 21st Century. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a spectacular chandelier in the center of the lobby. The vintage train set that runs through the Christmas tree display is so pretty and fun for the kids to watch. The restaurant downstairs, The Charleston Grill, served a superior meal. Overall, a great hotel and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Returned Wednesday night from a 4 night stay at Charleston Place, combo of a long weekend/business meeting trip. Beautiful place with nice staff. The first night we were in a 3rd floor double next to the elevator, Although the beds were very comfy I did not sleep well, heard the other guests coming off the elevator at all hours. As promised at check in, the reception desk called the next day and the bellhop moved us to a King on the 6th floor while we were out having lunch and shopping at the market. Received the USA Today at our door every morning. turn down service every night with a chocolate or pack of benne wafers and a filled ice bucket. Great Meeting Street location, convenient to King and Market Streets with lots of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarmonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Charleston Place Hotel twice and my experiences were consistently bad. On the surface, the Charleston Place seems like a very nice hotel. But the walls are paper thin. I could hear every word spoken in the adjacent rooms and hallway as if there were no walls at all. In fact, it was as if sounds from adjacent rooms were magnified. This is not a matter of hearing muffled sounds; it literally sounded as if the people were sitting in my room, speaking -- loudly. To make matters even worse, there was also a huge dog in the room next to mine who was constanty whining (louder than any dog I've ever heard) and barking the entire time I was there, including all night. There were a lot of dogs on the elevator and in the lobby too; it was inescapable. Also, my key card for the elevator (I was on the club level) and my room constantly failed. In a single day, I had to go to the front desk to have my keys reactivitated six times. I was told not to get my key card anywhere near my cell phone or any electronic device. But I keep my phone and my keys in my bag (where else?), so that was not a practical solution. I've stayed in lots of hotels with key cards and have never before experienced any problem. Defective key cards is, in my experience, unique to the Charleston Place Hotel. I will never stay here again. Overall, a very bad experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel. There are no good rooms. All rooms have paper thin walls and the key cards don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Blueberry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Blueberry2013,
I am very sorry to read about the issues you experienced during your stay. While I am unhappy to hear that you had problems, I appreciate your feedback as we review all comments to help improve future experiences.

Our security team is available to assist with noise complaints, so I am sorry we weren't given the opportunity to resolve this issue during your stay. Additionally, we try our utmost to maintain the integrity of the key cards, and to inform guests of their sensitivity to electronic devices. I apologize for this inconvenience, and we will certainly work to come up with a more practical solution. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,
Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at Charleston Place. As in previous visits we stayed on the club level. In our room the phone did not operate properly nor did the HVAC. We did not receive the USA TODAY one morning as promised. The staff was terrific and we loved the location. Will likely return but we hope these small inconveniences will improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Charleston Place over a weekend during the summer, and were more than pleased with the decor, the service, and the location. Our room was a somewhat small, but beautifully decorated. The bathroom was fine. The restaurants in Charleston Place are quite good, and the hotel is within walking distance of several of Charleston's excellent restaurants. So, you can easily find out why Charleston has earned its reputation for a city of fine dining experiences.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbrjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Charleston Place. The wonderful southern charm, great service and comfortable room made our stay above expectations. The only reason for 4 stars is that the room service food was consistently under par. Not terrible but not high quality given the price.

Otherwise the service was so outstanding. Anything asked for was quickly taken care of.
The hotel is in the middle of things, within walking distance to wonderful shops and restaurants.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjfkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing