We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fletcher, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow. We were blown away from the start. We paid for a club level room and were given a free upgrade to a suite. The club level is worth the extra money. After our first day of shopping we came back to find a decadent cake and champagne waiting in our room. Then they sent up gorgeous flowers with a handwritten note. Each night our bed was turned down with Godiva chocolates on the pillow. The room was spotless, especially the bathroom which is so important. They left extra towels which were extra large (Love that!) The service was superb...from the bellmen to housekeeping to the concierge. The concierge went out of his way to make our 30th anniversary extra special. The location is so convenient to everything...you can walk practically everywhere, or take a bike taxi. Don't pay for valet parking. You can self-park in the garage--the same garage where they valet--for half the price. So what if you have to walk an extra 20 feet to your car? A note about the spa...while the massage was excellent, I was a little disappointed with the spa. It was a tad cramped in the dressing room and I didn't like sharing space with men in the waiting area while wearing nothing but a robe. Overall, it was a very memorable trip but might skip the spa next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,031
    518
    237
    105
    53
See reviews for
565
1,217
65
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel and its facilities are beautiful. It is in a great location, very close to shopping on King St. The service was excellent. Staying on the Club Floor was well worth the price. .......,,,,,,...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked thru our platinum Am Exp and received our room early, at 11:30 a.m., received the promised upgrade, room credit, continental breakfast and late checkout. We booked a Jr. Suite and received the Deluxe Jr. Suite which was a great corner room with a separate living area and bedroom - Room 4C. The manager also sent a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit plate up to our room around 5:00 which was perfect timing after a day of walking around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTravelRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Certainly a nice hotel in a good, but not prime, location. The hotel is modern and does not seem to fit the Charleston ambience. Charleston Grill is a bit stuffy, but the food is well done standard fare.

Service is exceptional although we got a bad dining recommendation from the concierge.

If you're there on business, it's the place to stay. If you want to experience old Charleston, you can do better. Check out the Battery B&B's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We always stay here when in the charleston area. Great rooms, easy access to all the downtown excitement. The price is high, but you get what you pay for in this case. The only complaint I have, is the absence of an in room coffee maker, but room service was prompt. The desk staff is awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurendavis
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was just catching up on some reviews and can't believe I haven't posted a review for this hotel. We stayed here in December 2011. Our son was 12 weeks at the time and it was one of the best vacations, largely due to this hotel. After a long drive from Florida, we were upgraded to a junior suite. We had booked with a travel agent and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us. We had breakfast every morning included in our package and it was outstanding! The service was also fabulous! And we visited the lobby bar several times. Great drinks and great service. There was a beautiful large train display in the lobby. Even if you aren't staying there but you are in the area for the holidays, go check it out. The valet team was so attentive. It was our first trip with our new baby and this stay was perfect. Fabulous location! Oh, and don't forget your bathing suit.... they have an incredible in door pool!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit and it was a "gem" as always. I have been fortunate enough to stay on the "club level" all three times. I stay at many lovely hotels throughout the country, and this one is a favorite. Let me begin by stating that there is no better service to be found in any hotel The bellman, hotel operator, front desk, concierge, housekeeping personnel, "club level" staff, and manager within this hotel are exemplary. As a hotel guest, my room and the hotel ambience is always important to me, but service is paramount. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast, tea, cocktail hour, and desserts/cordials offered daily is great. Location can't be beat. I will continue to stay here every visit to Charleston, as you just can't do better than this, not only here, but anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing