We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware pet fee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware pet fee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Charleston and made the reservation based on good reviews this hotel had gotten, its location and the fact that is was "pet friendly". The staff was very helpful and friendly but the hotel seemed a little worn and tired for the price. The real reason I'm writing this review and what made me mad is that when I booked the resv and then called the hotel to let them know I was bringing my well behaved non-shedding dog, neither the web site nor the person who answered the phone let me know about the $95 pet fee. When I mentioned this to the person checking us in she insisted it was on the website. I checked again twice and have not been able to find it. It was Xmas so we paid it without arguing. The hotel also does not allow guests to go out and leave their pets in their rooms alone so going out to dinner for Xmas would have been impossible. We ended up drugging our dog so there would be no chance of him making a peep. Not that he normally does. They suggest pet sitters. I recommend Charleston Place stop accepting pets and take all of the money they've collected from unsuspecting pet owners and invest in new furniture and wallpaper.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    531
    242
    105
    53
See reviews for
572
1,240
66
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had to be in Charleston for business and got a good corporate rate so I decided to do something different than a Hilton for a change. I am glad I did. What a wonderful place! Everyone says people in the south are friendly, but as a Yankee I was skeptical. I was wrong. Every staff member I interacted with was as nice as nice could be.

The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Even the bathroom had decor. The lobby was still decorated beautifully for Christmas.

I arrived late in the evening and discovered that the main restaurant's kitchen closes at 10. The room service menu didn't have anything that looked good at that moment so I wound up in the bar having several tapas plates and a beer. I had three items and they were all delicious.

On the second morning I decided to splurge on breakfast in the hotel. On future trips it won't be a splurge, it will be a necessity. I've seen larger buffets but none as good from end to end as this one. The scrambled eggs actually looked like scrambled eggs rather than a gelatinous yellow mass. They had excellent cheese blintzes. My server Franklin actually described the attributes of my coffee choice. I have never ever had someone do that.

The bacon was so good that I'm devoting a separate paragraph to it. It was without a doubt the best bacon I have ever had in my entire life anywhere in the world. Apple smoked and sliced just right; not too thick and not paper thin. It was cooked to that sweet spot between limp and over crisp like a potato chip. It took all my self discipline to stop eating it and walk away. I would come back just for breakfast.

The only negative I can come up with is the daily parking fee. I know the hotel is downtown but $15 per day for self parking and double that for the valet is a bit much even with unlimited in and out privileges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here Christmas week. Loved the city, food, hotel, location, people -- can't gush enough. My sweetie and I had a romantic, cozy and lovely time here. Would go back!

Comfortable and roomy room and great bed. Beautiful decorations for the holidays, great room service. Overall a great holiday here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for my 50th birthday in early December, and I got a great deal on Luxury Link for a package on the club level. It was fantastic, although not so great if you are dieting. The food was constant and very high quality. Top shelf drinks after 5 and beer and wine in the afternoons. The staff was spectacular, and after a mishap of delivering my birthday suprise from my husband to the wrong room, the concierge handled it very professionaly. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend in charleston because of the service, location and friendliness of the staff. I am not really a spa person, but since services came with the package I bought I had a facial and massage the morning we were leaving and thought it was very nice, although I am not a good one for comparisons. We loved Charleston too- it was a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandAinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Well located. First class shopping mall in the hotel and step outside to King Street. Towels galore and changed every day. Nice amenities. Comfortable bed and very clean room. Also good restaurants in the hotel, although we did not dine there. Self parking was $14 a day. All in all a very pleasant stay and the price we got was very good for the quality - $240/night

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
700 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 912 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hospitality shown by the staff and central location of this hotel is what makes The Charleston Place. Our room a deluxe jr. suite, small standing balcony faced Meeting Street, 1 king bed, 1 pull out sofa and 1 bathroom. Room décor has a definite old world feel/Georgian style. Tried two onsite dining options: Room Service for breakfast was good and The lobby Thoroughbread Club offered great tapas/cocktails and a fantastic live pianist. Indoor swimming pool and Spa great amenities ( children’s spa menu available). My complaints would be the lacking bed quality and very slow Internet speed in room ( download 0.2mbps/upload 0.24mbps).

Room Tip: We had a very hard time obtaining dining reservations (stayed over Christmas and this compounded pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a lovely hotel to spend Xmas day, front desk, concierge and rest of staff 5 star, it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.
The Xmas decorations were excellent and the whole place felt like Xmas.

Room Tip: We took two beds and the room was enormous, American hotels just need to give bigger bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Algarvehaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Property: Belmond Charleston Place
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Belmond, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing