We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for our anniversary (different hotel to the wedding night because it was awful) and it was awesome. Great location. unlike some moaners on here who complained about price! (are you serious?) and service (there is a reason you probably got blanked) we had a great experience. Ate at the grill were styled out ... I had even forgotten I had told anyone it was our anniversary. Thats service. Unlike other top end hotels in Charleston where their idea of valet is parking your own car! Love this place, will always come back.

Room Tip: Had Junior Suite which was pretty big with sofa, 2 TV's etc. Noise was definitely not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,485 - 2,491 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is simply no better place to stay when in Charleston, SC! The service is the highest quality and the people are fantastic! I cannot forget the food - absolutely AWESOME! The bartenders at the Thoroughbred Club are well trained. They remember your name and they are so polite. I cannot forget the employees at the Business Office. They went above and beyond the call of duty. I will not stay anywhere else when visiting Charleston!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a parking garage but the service is so good, I didn't care about that. I gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Due to the high price we only stayed one night. The staff is so attentive and friendly. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. The bed is the most comfortable ever!! We felt like royalty staying here. I've already told my husband that I want to come back even though we will be saving up for it.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice hotel in the historic downtown area, with rooftop views. Club level is very worth the extra money, good selection of food and drink at most times. This is a dog friendly hotel, so bring your fancy pets and show them off.

Room Tip: Great peach iced tea at Palmetto Cafe in hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I had a weekend away to Charleston Place. The amenities were exceptional. I highly recommend the club level room. The cocktails and tasty food offered there are perfect touches to the top notch service. The beds so very comfortable too. Our day at the spa was so relaxing. The entire staff was friendly and very professional. The location of the hotel was extremely close to everything. We were able to walk to all the local attractions. I would return to Charleston Place!!!

Room Tip: Club level rooms are worth the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hootie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is an expensive place to stay and the wireless Internet is slow. But the location is perfect for walking downtown Charleston. The beds are very comfortable and the room was very clean. The staff for our conference were courteous. The breakfast that was provided was. Of very good and the lunch was OK.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

An elegant hotel in the middle of the old part of Charleston, convenient to food and shopping and museums.
Rooms are large and well appointed with amenities.
Staff is cordial , helpful and effecient.
Retsaurants and bar are above par for most hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,931 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $336 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing