We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Charleston, and is located right next to the market. It is a short walk to wherever you want to go, and Charleston has so much to offer. The bottom of the hotel features high end shops as well, which many travelers pass through shopping. The atmosphere of the hotel is great, and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,526 - 2,532 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful inside and out. Great location for tourists in Charleston. Adjacent to the start of the outdoor markets. Restaurants and bars everywhere. High end shops in the hotel building (such as Gucci). All staff very helpful and welcoming. Zero issues. Nice mix of new and old in the rooms. Very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Charleston Place is a very nice hotel in a great location for walking the downtown and the historic area of the city.

The rooms are a bit tired (for the price) and we were told the hotel is being renovated in the near future. Our room was very nice in size and the bed was very comfortable.

The staff was especially accommodating in guiding us to tours and restaurants and had a can-do attitude.

Try Hank's for seafood.

I would suggest a carriage tour with a guide explaining the history of this very old city and many of the downtown homes.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite location with a view of the harbor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms are great and the hotel service is top notch. Stay on the the Club Level, it's worth the extra cost. The food and drinks are great, and so is the atmosphere. Hotel is in the perfect location for walking to shopping and historic Charleston landmarks.

Room Tip: Club level is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Charleston Place was over the top. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. Plenty of pillows. The rooms decor was rich in warm soothing colors. The bathroom supplied plenty of amenities and was also spacious. We stayed on the eight floor and enjoyed all the amenities for the club floor. The staff was attentive to all the guests in the common area. And kept the area clean. With fresh flowers on the tables added an extra flair to the area. Great place to be.
Located across from the Market and near most stores and restrurants made the Charleston Place an ideal choice. Beautiful lobby. Staff was friendly and eager to assist. We had great stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Aprilglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed on numerous occasions and always stay on the Club Level. You are treated like royalty while visiting. They go out of their way to provide elegant service and delicious food at various times of the day. The breakfast selections seem endless, you can enjoy wine and cheese in the afternoon, wonderful heavy appetizers and good drinks at happy hour and if you still haven't had enough they have wonderful desserts and after dinner drinks in the evening. The rooms are not real large but decorated very nicely and the bed is very comfortable. The Spa is only a couple of floors down along with a covered pool and deck area. the hotel is situated perfect to stroll through the slave market and antique shops on King. Go for it, stay on the Club Level.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stthomasfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I arrived in Charleston,originally booked at another hotel to attend a destination wedding.
When I arrived to my original hotel I was shown a room that smelled,was tired and was dirty.It certainly did not match up to the descriptions posted and the photos take on their site must have been taken decades ago.I had expectaions of grandeaur that quickly dissapated to the equivalent of the donkey stable a block away.

I immediately turned around and looked at 2 other rooms which were filled with the odor of mildew.Obviously it was time to leave and seek another choice of hotel.Time to leave at whatever cost as this was a vacation.The staff seemingly understood and did not seem surprised.
My wife and I walked a few blocks leaving our luggage behind and found the Charleston Place hotel nicely situated at the beginning of the Charleston city maket and in an excellent location in the heart of the action on Meeting street. .We were warmly greeted at the reception( Kendall) desk and as I explained my situation ,the front desk manager,Ryan explained that although the
Charleston Place hotel was sold out for the busy weekend due to many destination weddings,he would work hard to find us a room.They were all very understanding and sympathetic to our plight and situation.
Within the next half hour the manager and front desk staff rearranged a few things to present us with a beautiful and well appointed room that exceeded all expectations.
They offered to pick up our luggage and deliver it to our new room and nothing was too much to ask.
The bathrooms were marble and very well appointed and the Spa and Pool were excellent as were the restaurants.Beds were vey cofortable with superb linens and bedding.
This hotel is a gem in a city where unfortunatley many of the other hotels are a bit tired.
A great place to stay if you are planning a trip to Charleston for either business or pleasure.
The staff is one of the best I have encounterd in any hotel ovet the past year.
Old time elegance and luxury with all of the modern touches and comfort that is unsurpassed by many of the Four seasons or the other luxry hotels that I have stayed at.
true southern hospitality without the snootiness

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmreiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,931 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $336 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing