We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Charleston Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,375)
Filter reviews
3,375 results
Traveler rating
2,354
587
256
120
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,354
587
256
120
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpalmetto cafethoroughbred clubretractable roofbeautiful hotelrenovated roomroom serviceluxury hotelsouthern charmjunior suiterooftop poolking streetbell staffthe concierge levelturn down servicefitness centerheart of downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,800 - 2,805 of 3,375 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

After another relaxing and romantic stay at Charleston Place, we felt obligated to leave a positive review on Trip Advisor. Well-aware that everyone has different tastes and experiences, FOR US, there is NO OTHER PLACE TO STAY in the "Holy City". Charleston Place is exceptional!!. The hospitality staff is extremely loyal to their repeat guests and always provide upgrades and amenities to us, having stayed over a dozen times at their fine hotel. They even send us cards at the Holidays and spa and dining gift credits. They remember our likes and dislikes and introduce southern hospitality to us in a way that we have never experienced, not even in a Four Season or Ritz Carlton setting. It makes us sad to leave, but yearn to return time and time again. The hotel is ideally situated in the epicenter of King Street, within walking distance to everything dynamic Charleston has to offer. The hotel entrance winds down a quaint, cobbled courtyard making you feel at ease immediately. A Safe harbour in a safe city...who could ask for more in travel. The valet and bellman staff is on hand in multiples...helpful, informative, gracious, and welcoming. The front desk is accomodating and never slow or abrupt. The concierge, including Mr Burton, are experienced and unpretentious. All the restaurants are great, most especially the Grill with it's transporting Jazz and intoxicating flavors of New Southern cuisine. It should be in a category all of it's own. The lobby is marbled and grand, yet never cold. The rooms which many reviewers have disparaged upon, are always IMMACULATELY CLEAN, and warm and welcoming in both style and substance. They are classicly decorated in high-end furnishings and treatments and the colors are sunny and southern. Bathrooms are not the largest I have experienced or the most modern, but they are elegant and the showers are always hot and towels plentiful, making you feel comfortable and relaxed. Room Service is prompt and accomodates for special dietary needs and all the food is delicious. Obviously we love Charleston Pace, almost as much as we love Charleston. They are a perfect pairing. Having stayed multiple times at this hotel, in all different seasons and in varied rooms, aquired through their online and telephone reservation systems (always booking the most economical package), we have never been disappointed in any part of our stay. If consistency is king in travel experiences, then Charleston Place is our castle. Add to this the allure of the Holy City, with its sumptious cuisine, coiffed palm trees, world class shopping, and flickering gaslights, we have found our home away from home. And of course I knew I would find dogs in heaven, because did I mention, Charleston Place is super pet friendly too!!

Room Tip: Rooms are always IMMACULATELY CLEAN & Juliet Balcony Room overlooking courtyard is divine.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cutibaguti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Greetings...
I stayed at the Charleston Place on business the week of Feb. 20 and noticed that the place really needs a facelift.
The water pressure in the bathroom was not the best. You're better off using the shower to brush your teeth and do simple things like wash your face (yes, I said it).
The interiors need work too. Scuffs on walls, tile, hardwood floors, drapes - all needed to be either repaired, touched up or just plain thrown out.
Also, for simple things - like a pot hot tea (it was a bit chilly in Charleston). I wanted a pot of hot tea. Cost with taxes ($20+). No thank you.
And they slide your bill under the door. It's printed on cardstock; so at around 2 a.m., you'll hear this or something you think is really a monster under your bed. Anyway, it's distracting.
AND - if you decide to go to the bathroom at night and don't know the bill is there, you could slip.
The staff is nice - I will say that. Very accommodating. Will help you out with anything.
The view - well, gravel roof tops.
I always stayed at this hotel b/c of the reputation of Orient-Express Hotels and b/c it's close to many of the local attractions.
But I may have to say goodbye to this old friend. And try out the Restoration on King (lots of buzz about this place). The Vendue Inn is a favorite, when the Charleston Place is either booked or has conventions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our experience with this Hotel was very disappointing. On arrival we were told that our "confirmed" booking could not be honoured. We had booked 2 rooms (a Deluxe Junior and Junior suite on the same floor) but were given lesser rooms. The room had no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities. (Room service was $10 for a cup of tea). The bathroom was extremely small and the basin tap continually leaked. This was most annoying during the night as the bathroom door did not close properly so it was quite noisy.
The Charleston Grill was a great dining experience. The food was really good and the Jazz band amazing.
The location of this Hotel in the Historic area of the city is fantastic and within walking distance for most of the attractions - The Rainbow Row, the Market Place, Meeting Street shops, the Battery.
A tour of an Historic home is a must - we did Edmonston-Alston House which was very interesting. The cobbled streets and eclectic shops and galleries are wonderful. A horse drawn carriage tour is a wonderful way to see the sights and hear all the history from a knowing guide.
On check out we were given a bill for our original room bookings. We are still waiting for a return email from the manager 2 weeks later.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4bearsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is very welcoming without cloying attention. The kids were welcome and I even saw dogs!

The rooms were very clean and the service was impeccable. We also discovered that the location was perfect for walking around Charlestown.

The only down side is that we could hear people in the corridor early in the morning; the acoustics seemed terrible that way.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just returned from Charleston Place. Our stay was simply Perfect. We had the standard room, and it was Lovely, with up to date furnishings and nice appointments. It was so nice. The staff was perfect. They were so helpful without being intrusive. I have stayed at other Luxury hotels were the staff was too attentive and it felt uncomfortable. So this perfect balance was greatly appreciated.

It was a very busy weekend with SEWE, and Charleston Place is a key location for the event. Yet, everything worked like clockwork and you would never have known they were that busy.
It rained and we found it necessary to call for our car during our visit...everytime our car arrived super fast and the staff was seemed to happy to get it for us.

We have been coming to Charleston once or twice a year for nearly 20 years. We have stayed at Charleston Place before and liked it. This experience as truly extraordinary, and was by far our best hotel experience in the City.

In a City as wonderful as Charleston, with soo many great places to stay and dine, the way to stand out is to be the best. Chalreston Place in my mind did that. I cannot imagine wanting to go anywhere else ever again!

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of the hotel and had a pretty view. We felt very well cared for in the standard room. I cannot imagine how amazing the club floor must be!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sail2there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews