We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a Pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently completed our second stay at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District. You can't beat the location and the staff are some of the nicest and most helpful we've encountered in our Marriott Property stays. The hotel is clean and beautiful. Rooms are a bit small and slightly dated but it is located in the historic district so that isn't unexpected. Our room was very clean. We had an extremely early departure and the staff took great care in having our vehicle waiting. I think my highlight was the snack spread after a long day of sight seeing. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogreen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    372
    136
    42
    24
See reviews for
178
435
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, ga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel! Parking deck located right across the street was convenient.
Comfy beds. After a ghost tour of the city, I was worried I wouldn't sleep. But, that bed and those sheets were so comfortable, I sleep sound all night.
The people at the check in desk were so friendly and helpful. They gave me the best suggestions for meals. I had a marvelous dinner and breakfast while there. I can't wait to come back to Charleston. I will def. stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationbydesign123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for submitting this review. Our team of Navigators prides themselves on providing a flawless Renaissance experience which includes offering customized suggestions that allow you to savor, sip, shop, and see our favorite local discoveries in Charleston. We’re very excited that you enjoyed our suggestions and we can’t wait to share our newest discoveries with you on your next stay!

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Renaissance property has a superb location in the Historic center of Charleston and relies on it and a friendly and eager to please staff to overcome a rather iffy value proposition. I think of Renaissance as a four-star brand, but this is more of a three-star property, in a newer, purpose built building with paper thin walls (we were constantly disturbed by neighbors above, below, and adjacent) and rather basic amenities and bathrooms.

On paper, it all seems to be there, but Concierge staffing was spotty. The pool area is quite tiny and not attended by staff. Rooms lack requisites like minibars and in-room safes. Large hotels like this should be well stocked with morning newspapers for guests, but they had always "just run out."

Everything seemed well maintained and very clean, and service is helpful and friendly. (Florence in housekeeping went above and beyond the call to help recover a lost item.) Other plusses: Wifi coverage seemed excellent (fee); valet parking is reasonable cost ($19) relative to many cities; and the workout area is modern, if not particularly expansive.

It's hard to get into this property for under $250/night, but its room product and amenities are equivalent to limited service brands charging half as much in Charleston. The difference is they are out by the airport, don't have a full service restaurant/room service, and lack meeting space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for offering your feedback about your recent stay. The team was excited that you described them as friendly and “eager to please.” We were also excited that one of our caring room Stylists, Florence, received recognition for going “above and beyond.” We’ve certainly utilized your comments to assist in our team’s continuous improvement process which is focused on providing each of our guests with the value and experience that they expect and deserve. Thank you for staying with us. I hope we have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Spoke with Katelyn from front dest prior to check in and she was very helpful. Our room (633 Suite) was outstanding.
I came across similar issue upon checking in as far as a bellhop but as soon as I asked one was there to help and did a great job. Front desk staff was help full and kind.

Still in hotel and all **EXCEPT for the following*** has been outstanding.

We had the do not disturb sign on our door until after our showers @ 8:45 am. When we left the room housekeeping was working on the rooms around us. At 11:30 when we got back our room hadn't been serviced (still old food from our early breakfast, towels all used, beds unmade, etc...)
I called down to inform the front desk, and they assured we hadn't been missed and someone would be up soon.
We got back at 3:45 and still no houskeeping!
Now we have no towels to shower for this evenkng, daughter is napping on an inmade bed, and room smells like this mornings breakfast :(
Finally sent someone to bring us fresh towels and take the food out.
She said they never let her know today. Oh well... Not going to let it ruin our opinion of the hotel since everything else has been great, bit it's still pretty sad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. I liked the ability to self park across the street. Rooms were clean and quiet. Within walking distance to shopping and food and 15 minutes by car to the beach. I would stay here again in the future. The only negatives were having to pay for coffee and wifi.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Windsurfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We decided to go to Charleston at the last minute (made reservations the day we went) and almost every other hotel was full. Not sure what was happening in Charleston that weekend but the Renaissance was the only hotel we could find in the downtown area that had availability. Paid more than I thought we should for a room but for last minute travel, it wasn't bad, especially given that the hotel is tucked away on a quiet street and is convenient (walking) to all the sites one would want to see in Charleston.

The room opened up to the pool area on the second floor. It was raining while we were there so no one at the pool. I can see this would be a problem (noise) if the pool area happened to be busy. The room was smallish but comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was also small but adequate. I would not consider this a luxury hotel but is is definitely above average. No complaints about the bed: a good night's sleep was had.

The main shopping street is just out the door to the left (including a Starbucks) and Market Street is just a short walk out the door to the left. The Battery is within walking distance and well-worth the time. Make sure you make an effort to walk through the lesser know streets such as Longitude Avenue to get the full Charleston experience and to view the variety of historic architecture.

Although not what I would consider an outstanding property, I did like this better than Charleston Place and the Mills House. So, for stays in Charleston, the Renaissance has made it on our list for future visits. Whether or not we stay at the Renaissance again depends on price.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, you might want to avoid rooms that open up to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pramstroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
374 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Charleston, SC. It is located in the Historical District and is walking distance to many of the historical sights. Breakfast was included in our deal and it was served as a buffet with local and regional foods as well as traditional breakfast foods. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Small swimming pool which we did not use.

Room Tip: WiFi charges are expensive, but free for Marriott Gold card members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Charleston, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Restoration
The Restoration
#10 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing