We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Clean Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Greenville, sc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Clean Hotel!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business. Hotel was very clean and is a great location. Employees very friendly...especially breakfast, front desk and valet. Would definitely return for a longer visit! Would be nice if Wi-Fi was free. Beautiful decor...simple elegance that reflects historic Charleston. Close to shopping, restaurants. Once you park you probably won't need your vehicle. Regular size rooms (not the smaller which is typical of Charleston). Cute courtyard.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dnelsoninslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    394
    151
    55
    30
See reviews for
194
470
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I recently stayed at The Renaissance Charleston for business. Great location, beautiful clean hotel...and most impressive was the staff. Everyone from bell, front desk, and breakfast team could not have been nicer or friendlier. Loved the bed and shower was great with better pressure than my home. A great property in the heart of Charleston. I will be back for a weekend with my wife.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I booked a night in this hotel on our trip to South Carolina. We got a corner room upgrade according to one of the receptionists. What makes the corner room different is one can't see the whole room as soon as the door is opened. There is an entry way which leads to the sleeping area. The room is furnished and decorated as one would expect from a Renaissance Hotel. It is comfortable, cozy, and clean. Continental buffet breakfast was included with our stay. A staff informed us that we could partake of anything that is spread close to the wall and anything from the table in the middle of the room would be charged extra. My husband and I were fairly satisfied with the Continental fare. We ignored the middle table laden with breakfast proteins. The best feature of this hotel is its location. The shopping area is only around the corner and a BBQ place that is on South Carolina's BBQ Trail Map is just a couple of minutes walk from it.

Room Tip: Request a corner room for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in Charleston many times but this was a first at the Renaissance. Beautiful, Great Location, Gorgeous Room! Sure wish we had stayed here for our previous visits! My only complaint would be the typical Marriott Mistake of charging for internet??? Come on Marriot get with the times! I am a Silver Member so the girl at the front desk "let" me have it with no charge. Shouldn't have to even ask! That being said our room was on a high level corner. Wonderful in every way!

Room Tip: corner upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handtiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location easy walk to many restaurants, bars, and site seeing. Check all sites for prices you will find a wide price difference from site to site. Great military rate and AAA rate. Great place for couples, friend, and girl weekend. You will not be bored here. There is a 12 fee for self parking plus 1 and change tax on the parking so its really more like 14 dollars a day

Room Tip: Higher floors because of street noise / activities going on around the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSamAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The property is in a great spot. It's easy to walk to just about anywhere in the historic district. As far as hotels go, we had an average experience inane average hotel. Seemed a but underwhelming in terms of decor and ambience, although by no means shabby or dirty. Staff was friendly and courteous, but very informed when we asked for recommendations on where to get a nice glass of wine. Rooms were a bit small and utilitarian, but suitable. The parking was across the street, but adequate. There was nothing here to drive us away, but nothing here to draw us back either.

Room Tip: The pool area apparently serves as a smoker's lounge on occasion -- probably best to avoid the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel and we greatly appreciate the feedback you have shared with us. It is disheartening to hear that we failed to overwhelm and exceed your expectations during your stay with us. However, I am glad to hear that our Ambassadors were friendly and provided you with their expert insider knowledge. We pride ourselves on being local area experts and creating exceptional experiences for our guests that you would not be able to find anywhere else in Charleston. As you mentioned, our location enables us to create these one of a kind experiences that truly makes your time here memorable. It is my hope that the next time you are in Charleston you will consider staying with us and allow us to create these exceptional experiences and memories for you.

Kind regards,

John Benefield
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

....smack-dab in middle of one of the most beautiful, historic cities I know. The location is a short walk to everything and the Parking Garage directly next door is Fantastic for Longboarding down. What a ride!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulugaq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Charleston, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Restoration
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing