We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good hotel needing some attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good hotel needing some attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I have spent a couple weekends lately in Charleston and stayed at the Renaissance. It is a great location, has very nice rooms, a nice fitness center/pool,easy parking, and a decent buffet. However, the staff was a little spotty. We had an encounter at the desk checking in the first time about what we were entitled too as platinum elite marriott members. In fact the lady was a little huffy. Fortunately, the front desk supervisor Reid interceded and resolved every issue. After that our stay could not be any more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was good but could use a little more attention. They forgot to bring us juice and a second round of coffee/tea. The second visit, they asked about beverages, but the buffet had to be restocked on certain items only after we asked. The fitness center although good, the cardio equipment needs some updating. The tvs don't carry all the channels and the headphone jacks don't work so well. My second visit got real good results as my wife and I were fortunate to get Reid again. We stay in lots of Marriotts and with a little tweaking, this one could be real good

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and a view if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsander722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    349
    128
    39
    18
See reviews for
171
403
20
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, right in the center of the historic district. The rooms are well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The lounge is great and staff the same. This is my new hotel for staying in Charleston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed with my family, wife and two teenage kids, at the Renaissance Charleston Hotel while visiting the College of Charleston for my daughter. The location is great for the campus. However the hotel bills itself as a luxury hotel and prices itself as such, but it is not. There are other luxury hotels in the area that are much nicer and worth the price. The staff got more than one thing wrong both before our stay and during. While booking, I was told we would be on the club level. It turns out there is no club level. While there we were told checkout time was 12:00. It turns out it was 11:00. Also the bar/lounge area is really much too small for a hotel this size and so is not all that inviting. Nevertheless, it is a nice and convenient hotel if you are visiting the College of Charleston

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreLePlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were expecting a little nicer ambiance based on hotel website photos. Rooms were small however the location is very convenient to King st. if you're into shopping. Well definitely try another property on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1020LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a family emergency and the property and employees couldn't have been nicer. They were able to tell us were we needed to be and got us there quickly. If you go to the bar you have to order a shaken mixed drink the bartender is great

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagnafme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always love staying in Charleston, especially when we had the most beautiful weather in January! But you aren't looking at Trip Advisor for the weather report, so...We had a great one-night stay here. The lobby was stylish and attractive. Very handsome bar, even if small and sitting areas. The rooms are comfy, clean and quiet, which is great considering you are right off of King St (busy steet). The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning ($18pp). Typical fair such as eggs, bacon, grits and muffins, but also had fresh fruit, cold cereals, and yogurt. Again, the staff was very nice.
I have stayed at another Renaissance property and while it was a little nicer, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wndrwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago, so we decided to spend three nights over New Years and I have to say that Marriott needs to consider spending money on these old hotels if they want to keep charging $$$ for them. The hotel is worn out. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are clean, but they need a renovation. We only had breakfast because we had planned to eat at local restaurants. The breakfast was good, Marriott always has great breakfast, but the restaurants in the hotels are overpriced for mediocre food, so we stayed away from that this time. Valet service was a little chaotic being that there is not much room and cars were everywhere in front of the hotel. Location is a plus,so that made up for everything else, but we will not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to another hotel. Very thin walls. Very outdated furniture. Worn out. Needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,451 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing