We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, poor views, good service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #37 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, poor views, good service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed two nights. The first room did not meet our expectations and we were assigned another without any problems, It doesn't seem that there are any rooms with nice views, but the location of the hotel is great, Everything in old town is within walking distance and you are right next to the shops on King Street. The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. - The price was right - Overall a pleasant stay without any significant up or downs.

I did appreciate free internet and instead of a club floor, they offered a free breakfast buffet - GREAT IDEA!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet. Elevators are a bit loud, try to get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    357
    132
    40
    20
See reviews for
173
414
20
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Charleston. Upon arrival, the valet was quick to greet me and the bellman was quick to gather my baggage. Entering the hotel, the lobby was beautiful and the front desk staff was quick and effecient. The room itself was nicely decorated, nothing special, your normal hotel room. The bedding was comfortable. The fitness room was well equipted with the most up to date machines and had plenty of free weights. The roof top pool was very clean and had plenty of seating around the pool. The pool itself was a lap pool.
This hotel is in an excellent location for sight seeing and for shopping. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Valet Parking is $19 per day Self Parking $12 per day. The parking garage is directly across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I visited Charleston for her birthday weekend and decided to book at the Renaissance Charleston with our AAA discount. The hotel was average to very good. The hotel room was spacious, clean and updated. My wife liked the Avieda products they had in the bathroom and I enjoyed the nice (not brinck hard) towels and sheets etc. The King size bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. Although it sucked that we had to pay for parking the parking garage is right across the street from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made the trip enjoyable.


The location of the hotel is what made it all worth it. The Renaissance is not even a block away from all of the shops, resturants and bars. Although we did not eat at the hotel (we like to get out when we are on vacations) the food looked reasonably priced. The hotel was definietly a safe bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINGGARRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We traveled to Charleston for a family wedding and we had decided to take the amtrak train. We arrived at the hotel at 5:06am after an 11 1/2 hour ride and way before our check in time. When we got there we explained to the front desk and we were given a complimentary room to rest and shower before our room was ready at noon. The hotel was beautiful and in a great location to walk all around Charleston. We loved the area and the hotel and would have loved to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyb326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel is a nice enough place, a bit over priced, but thats Marriot. It is not easy getting in and out. They missplaced my car keys causing us to waite 10 minutes extra for our car before we could go out for Dinner. I had a king size bed that slep like a bed of stone, very hard, did not sleep good. Not tipical Merriot.Slept in the ugly chair some. Thermostat located in a corner behind a heavy, ugly chair. Towels were a little scratchy, mildew in grout joints between tub and commode. Did not care for paying $14.00 for Wi-Fi. My Wi-Fi did not work, System overload.
Dinning Room for Breakfast! Don't go! Typical Cheap Buffet, Scrambled Eggs were hard and dry, out of bacon, Biscuits were very hard, out of potatos, Grits looked like milk water. Something that looked like chipped beef, tasted like corned beef hash with milk in it, non eatable. Waiter has to bring you juice and coffee. Brings out coffee in a IHOP Carraffe with two cups in it.No salt or pepper on the table, no sugar on the table, the oatmeal could be used as concreat. over all, Don't eat in their Dinning Room. Breakfast bill three Buffet meals + a waffel was $69.00. This within itself is outrage. This food is not near as good as a free Breakfast Bar at a real cheap Motel. It can't compare to a Hampton Inn or Druy Inn.

Room Tip: Sak for one hi up on Back side of Hotel. ou get a view of the area and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and we had no complaints with the staff, but drinks at the hotel bar are very very expensive. Save somemoney and pack your own drinks for your room (we had a mini fridge). We were there for Thanksgiving and walked everywhere. The hotel is located within walking distance of some great restaurant, bars and prime shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sikesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick get away and Charleston is definitely a romantic city. The Renaissance is in a perfect location, walking distance to restaurants and it is just off King Street, the major shopping hub. Reed at the front desk is awesome! The staff is very helpful and always nice to deal with. If we needed anything, coffee, towels and yes, even bath robes....they were quick to answer the call.

Charleston was especially nice this time of the year. Just after Thanksgiving and no crowds! Restaurants easy to get into and traffic was a breeze. We will definitely return same time next year! Lord willing of course:-)

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms....tend to be larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,781 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing