We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fantastic Marriott property. Not sure what is going on with any negative reviews because there is nothing to be negative about. I've stayed at many five star properties and this is a beautiful hotel. The staff at all levels are very nice and want to make your stay perfect. Them location is so convenient to both King Street and Meeting Street. Very nice to be able to shop, rest and shop some more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCHRTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    394
    152
    55
    30
See reviews for
194
470
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a convention. Our stay was for 3 days and was wonderful. Had some free time and could walk to everything we wanted to see. Beautiful part of Charleston and full of history. Marked place close by. Fort Sumter, aquarium within walking distance. A lot of historic tours available..

Room Tip: We had a king bed and understand from other people that the rooms with 2 beds (doubles) got to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. For location, it is great. You are near King Street and the Market. But that is about the best thing about this hotel. The bed was bad. I asked the front desk if they had better beds elsewhere or even a pillow top. I was told "We will check and see." I still have not heard from them. As for the rooms. There are no safes. There are tears in the bed linens and curtains. The hotel hallways smelled musty. They even messed up our reservation. When you check out be careful. They try and charge you $1.00 "destination fee" each night. I was told that this is charged by Charleston area hotels to promote the area. The way i look at it, they collect plenty of taxes from tourists. The fee is optional. Don't pay it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallstreetredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a superb location within walking distance of everything in Charleston. This is the highlight. The rooms really need renovation plus the rooms and hallways have a very strong musty odor. The bathrooma are particularly dated and the double room has full instead of queen beds. Doubt we would stay here again unless they renovate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location, location, location.... This hotel is big enough to have all the fine amenities you'd want for more than an overnight stay....but small enough to not feel like you are at a convention type hotel that caters to business people. Great location between Meeting and King St for easy access all over. Front desk staff is good, but the valet and concierge are exceptional. They made the visit for ease of in/out and where we were going -- really great valet/concierge/bag service staff. Comfortable beds....clean....quick resolution on any missing items needed or questions. All you'd want in a great location. The only complaint is that the bar closes to early on the weekends (11AM on a Fri night??) and the pool area is a bit cramped -- but expected for a downtown location.

Room Tip: Pool is on 3rd floor area -- if you have kids may choose this area of hotel. Haven't had a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Perfect location between Meeting and King streets. Ten minute walk to the Market, thirty minute walk to the Battery. Small outdoor pool and fitness center. King room was very spacious, with typical Marriott/Renaissance style. Comfy bed.
We checked in early, around 10am, and they had a room available for us immediately. That made for a great start to our day. The Housekeeping staff (especially Karen) was most accommodating too.
Parking garage across street. You can self park for $12 with in/out all day. Spots designated for hotel guests on 2nd and 3rd floors. You can valet too for a little extra, but really not necessary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for only two nights, but plan to go back for a week. The staff was terrific, even going so far as to lend me a staff member's unberella since they were out of the hotel loaners. The rooms were clean, beds were great. Breakfast was exceptional. The location is easy walking distance to many great restaurants and shops. You can't go wrong if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Charleston, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Restoration
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Market Pavilion Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing