We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I just got back from Charleston and we stayed 3 nights as the Residence Inn. When we first booked the hotel we were a little worried that it wasn't right in the historic district but we didn't want to pay the prices for the hotels down there. I can't say how much we enjoyed our stay here.
They have a shuttle that will take you and pick you up from the historic district that runs from 5PM - 11:45 PM. The shuttle driver was very nice and extremely helpful. He suggested places to go and gave directions.
The hotel has ample parking. We got a rental car so that we could go to the beaches while we were there. We drove to Folly and IOP, the hotel was pretty central to everywhere we wanted to go.
For free hotel food, they have really good food. The breakfast was the best free hotel breakfast that I can think of. We also attended their Manager's Happy Hour one evening and a beer tasting another evening.
Every person we encountered working at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The pool was nice, it's small but it wasn't crowded, and they allow you to drink out there.
I would definitely stay at this place again when we hopefully make it back to Charleston in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    193
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
226
167
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn in a 2-bedroom suite. Each bedroom has a bathroom, and the living area has a sofa, chairs, TV, table & chairs, and kitchen. The suites are quite spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the free breakfast is pretty good.
Although it's not in the heart of Charleston, it is only a short drive. They offer an evening shuttle, but we didn't use it. We did enjoy the evening reception with drinks and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tripplanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

While this property is a perfectly acceptable Residence Inn that is all it is. I recently stayed at the Residence Inn Airport in Charleston and much preferred that property. This Residence is next to a marina on the other side of the bridge from downtown. It is not a stay and walk property. They do run a shuttle service every half hour downtown to accommodate for their poor location but why bother.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Douglas L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent travel experience with us as well as other travelers on TripAdvisor!

We are sincerely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay. We are considered to be in the downtown area, however we are not within walking distance to the historic district, nor do we claim to be. It is about 2-3 miles to the historic district. We offer our complimentary evening shuttle as we have found that many guests prefer to use that rather than have to drive and find parking.

Our amenities combined with our amazing staff are just a few of the many reasons guests choose our hotel. We hope that you may give us a chance in the future to show you our commitment to guest service excellence.

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. Have a great day!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We only spent one night there but we were pleased. Clean, friendly, on Sunday eve they had a Bloody Mary bar, free to guests!! We were becoming wary of residence inns because the last 2 we stayed were a mess. This one restored our confidence. Not knowing the area, we were disappointed we were not right downtown, but the shuttle made up for it. Parking and the shuttle were free, a great value compared to downtown hotel parking or just parking in general.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrssparky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff was very friendly, breakfast was great, Weekday evening reception was more than one could ask for. Hotel had Prime rib the first night we were there. The hotel and rooms very well kept. Clean.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Charleston area.
Everything is close by. From Downtown Charleston to the plantations to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justified777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed two nights in your 2 bedroom suite and the stay was excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A great positive was your shuttle driver, Stanley, who went above and beyond the call of duty. He was polite and helpful and made our ride to and from downtown very enjoyable. Excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything was SUPER clean, loved the large room and breakfast. Such a wonderful place to stay instead of pricey downtown but we were just minutes away from anything. I would highly recommend staying here for anyone traveling to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Marriott, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing