We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I have attended quite a few meetings at this hotel but we actually stayed here this past weekend. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel decor is very attractive and the suite was perfect. The hot breakfast is very good and varies from day to day.

The fourth floor has recently been refurbished. At this moment the second floor is under renovations.

The hotel does not get five stars from me because there is not sufficient parking. We had to park on the shoulder of the road out front. We had a suite with an eastern exposure. I never figured out the source but there was a frequent, loud, dull "roar" that seemed to come from somewhere outside. If you have a choice ask for a fourth-floor room that does not face east.

The hotel calls itself "Downtown/Riverview" but it is neither downtown nor does it have what I would call a view of the river. Yes, you can see the river if you look over parking lots and the tops of other buildings but in my mind "Riverview" conjures up the idea of a hotel on the river. It is not that. The hotel is actually located west of the Ashley River. You cannot walk to downtown. There is a shuttle service. As long as potential guests understand the situation I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonflowerperfume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    196
    65
    22
    21
See reviews for
233
170
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This property is my "go-to" hotel for the area. Fantastic staff, flexible booking, wonderful rooms. The shuttle service to downtown is a huge deal, as are the meals. Overall a fantastic option for anyone visiting the Charleston area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston and our first leg of a trip up the east coast. We often stay at Residence Inn's as they accommodate our two dogs. This hotel was clean, well decorated and at a lovely location. The staff was helpful, and very courteous. I know that we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wonderful property, great staff, great shuttle service. Couldn't have been happier with our stay.
Room was very clean and spacious. Complimentary breakfast had nice variety each morning. Wine tasting on Friday evening was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. I loved the towel turtle that was on the bed when we arrived. The only negative thing I could say is that the sofa was not very comfortable to sit on. The shuttle and pick up from downtown is a plus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My family arrived from Atlanta and we greeting nicely from the desk person, who let us know that our groceries were already in our room upstairs. Wow, that was nice. Room was large and clean, and everything stocked it was supposed to have. Breakfast in the morning was Residence Inn-like - I like making my own waffles. That night, the snack was pasta, meatballs, sauce and garlic bread - all very nicely done. And no end to the beer and wine either. No soft drinks, but endless sweet tea and lemonade more than made up for that. Great value in a nice hotel - located very close to downtown. Did not use free shuttle to downtown from 530-1030pm, but heard it worked great for those who did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

While the staff was perfectly competent, the property well-maintained, and the shuttle downtown was free, I would not choose to stay at this location again. I found the price per night very high for being several miles from the historic district. As other reviewers mentioned, the bedrooms are tiny--we actually called the front desk because we couldn't believe our "queen" bed was anything bigger than a full. My biggest complaint with this location was the bedroom's location, which was on the ground floor next to the hot tub where the hotels most obnoxious and intoxicated clientele spent their time, even after "quiet hours." I'd rather splurge and stay downtown for our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask to not be placed on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Dawn M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. We strive toward 100% guest satisfaction and take your opinion very seriously. Our one bedroom suites are furnished with queen sized beds, and apologize if it seemed a bit too small for you. Just to update you-- we are currently undergoing multimillion dollar suite renovations. Our studio suites will all have king sized beds. Many guests prefer the studio suite over the one-bedroom simply due to the open layout.

Also, we apologize for the noise issue. Please make sure to report to the front desk the next time. We would have quickly resolved that issue for you. After all-- great sleep is our business! Although we are not in the historic district, we are competitively priced with other hotels around us. We offer amenities that many do not, which provides a great value. These great amenities include complimentary: weekday evening social, hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi, parking & complimentary evening social to the historic district. What's more? We have an award winning staff that exemplify true southern hospitality.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back. Please contact me at the email address below and I will be happy to personally coordinate any future reservations so you can see for yourself our dedication to service excellence. Until then, please take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing