We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place to stay . Was in Charleston for a family wedding. Our stay was perfect ! Free Breakfast was awsome ( especially the Belgium Waffles! ) Loved Bingo night ( Andrea was a delight ) -had fun with on Ghost Tour (prize from Bingo ) ! Hotel was very clean and staff were all so friendly . My only complaint was the mattress on the pull out couch was not very comfortable ! Would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear jean1052,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with others on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had the full Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview experience! We strive to make our guests feel welcome and have fun! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities and activities offered. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to Andrea and to all of the staff for a job well done.

Thanks again for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott! We hope to welcome you back soon. Until then, take care!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    193
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
227
168
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel that has lots of perks. Complimentary breakfast, free parking, cocktails. Breakfast was very good each morning. Friendly staff and eager to serve. Our hair dryer broke in the room and they gave us a new one right away. The location is hard to get to is the only complaint I have about this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca P,

I hope all is well in Baton Rouge!

Thank you very much for the kind compliments. We are so happy to hear that you experienced true southern hospitality and were able to enjoy all the amenities you mentioned including our complimentary hot breakfast, free parking & evening manager's reception. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our hard-working staff for a job well done. We truly appreciate the feedback.

For guests that do not use GPS, we have pre-printed directions to/from any location in Charleston that you can fathom including almost all attractions, restaurants, beaches & stores. Also, our front desk is staffed 24/7 and will stay on the phone with our guests until they arrive at our doorstep. We very much want our guests' time in Charleston to be as stress-free and safe as possible and we will do as much as we possibly can to ensure that. We are, afterall, named the #1 city in America by Condé Nast magazine and we strive to live up to the expectations that ensue.

We hope to welcome you back soon! Until then, take care.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Enjoyed a great stay at the Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 4/17/14 - 4/20/14. Was in Charleston for a family wedding. Suite was very clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was delicious and convenient. Location is very convenient to downtown. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Laura R,

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amazing amenities and that you found the location to be perfect. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor, and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Charleston.

Please contact me on your next trip down, and I will be happy to personally assist with making your reservations. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I travel frequently for work so a comfortable hotel is very important to me. The staff here is great and the room is clean and comfortable. When I had a problem with the door lock, the staff bent over backwards to rectify the problem. The breakfast and dinner buffet are great. The shuttle bus to downtown Charleston is very convenient. Whenever I travel to Charleston I always stay at the Ripley Point Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offer a great way to get fresh air without leaving your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Steve R,

Thank you very much for the compliments. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the great amenities offered. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Charleston. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The shuttle into the Historic District in the evening is great.

The staff is very helpful. There are NO ramps for wheeled luggage. We had to lug it up over a curb and up three steps. This Residence Inn has only queen beds which is unusual for Residence Inns. Very uncomfortable if you are used to king sized beds like we are.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LostLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear LostLots,

I hope all is well in beautiful California!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive toward 100% guest satisfaction and your feedback helps us aim better toward this goal. Just to update you on a couple of matters-- We are beginning a full multimillion dollar room renovation beginning next week (April 28). All of our studio suites will now be equipped with king beds. Too, please know that we do have a ramp located in the back of the hotel by the tennis court as well as a small curb ramp at the main entrance. Due to flood zoning, we were unable to place a ramp at the back center entrance.

We appreciate your honest review, and hope that you will visit us again to see our new stylish rooms!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Staff were friendly and very attentive, clean room, love the breakfast and dinner buffet! Our stay was hassle free and very relaxing . Will definitely go back . My husband and I only want to stay @ similar hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviad58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Sylviad58,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the great amenities offered such as our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and evening social. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Charleston. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was under the impression that the hotel was located in downtown Charleston. Instead it's located 2 miles from downtown over a bridge. Hotel is old and dated. Room did not smell good. Highly disappointed especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mike7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear mike7747,

We deeply regret to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We strive toward 100% complete guest satisfaction and hate to hear we missed the mark.

Just to update you-- we are beginning multimillion dollar room renovations next week (4/28/14). All of our suites will be fully renovated and will be sure to please! Also, we are considered downtown-- just not the historic district. This can be confusing to guests, but we feel as though we have made it very clear on our website. Being outside of the historic district gives our hotel the advantage of free parking and quiet rooms. We offer a complimentary evening shuttle to our guests to the historic district and are happy to help arrange taxi fare or pre-printed directions in the day. In our opinion and to the opinion of many of our guests--this is the best of both worlds!

We hope to welcome you back soon so you can see for yourself our new, stylish rooms! Please feel free to contact me at Katie.Register@marriott so that I can personally coordinate any future reservations. Thanks for your honest review. Until next time, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing