We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great Marriott. We often stay here when our son has to go to MUSC Children's Hospital. The front desk staff is EXCELLENT! The hotel is well maintained and clean. Ask for a balcony suite. We requested a quiet balcony room, and got just what we wanted. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scnurseMyrtleBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 589 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

A short 10 minute drive to Historic Charleston. Free shuttle service helps you avoid parking hassles and fees in the downtown area. Finding a parking space here late at night can be a challenge. Super clean, large, modern and comfortable rooms with an accommodating front desk and staff that shows you what southern hospitality is all about. Typical Marriott breakfast items served in a very relaxing dining room. Excellent choice for families with kids and/or dogs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much for all the kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with other travelers. Our award winning staff is definitely something we are proud of and we love showing our guests southern hospitality. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you next time you are in Charleston!


Yours in (southern) hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Located across the river from Historic Charleston about 1 1/2 miles. Rooms large and very comfortable. Loved the free evening shuttle to Historic city, the generous included breakfast and evening snacks Monday thru Thursday. Tour bus will pick you up at the hotel too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the fantastic amenities we have to offer. Our hot breakfast, evening social hour and complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district are sure to please! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked our trip to celebrate both a birthday and anniversary. When we arrived, we were treated exceptionally well and were given a fantastic suite and champange. The hotel is VERY conveinent to the downtown area, about a mile away, and next to a marina. They have a shuttle to take you there after 5;30PM each day if you don't care to drive and park. Lots to see and do.
Can't wait to return. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good with good variety and teh heated pool was refreshing as was the spa. Our suite was very large with a sunroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmarlow4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday and anniversary trip and that we could help you celebrate. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your kind words with other travelers. We hope to see you both again soon!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here because we were traveling with our 80 pound dog. Choices are limited at that weight and this place seemed to cater to dogs. That is the honest truth. Upon arrival we got a dog bag with goodies and information about dog friendly restaurants and parks. Once we got to our room however we were not as pleased. We got a two bedroom suite but it smelled like a kennel when we got there. I have stayed at pet friendly places before without the smell. The couch was uncomfortable and appeared to have been so old the cushions no longer had fluff and you sank into the frame of the pull out bed.

The staff on hand was very friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle that will take you to downtown Charleston ever half hour and bring you back the same. Breakfast is offered every morning but is just average. There is a themed social Monday thur Thursday for light dinner and drinks. If you want any rest avoid room 123. It is convenient to pet walk however the door slams and with people in and out at all times getting sleep is difficult. I would also avoid a room beside an elevator as well.

The bathroom was small but pretty clean. Overall if you are needing a place to stay with a large pet this is it. If not then I would go elsewhere. At $200 a night your options are much better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the elevator and definitely avoid room 123.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjwilliams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 3/2-3/5/13. The service is just really, really good. Hot breakfast is a bonus. If you want a suite for a couple, this is a great one BUT I booked a suite with a queen and a foldout bed for my mom and I and the foldout bed was unusable. The foldout mattress is worn and the bed is incredibly uncomfortable. I wasn't a big fan of the color scheme and I usually don't pick on things like that - but it was orange and green and really, pretty ugly. Overall, room was clean but showing a little wear and I didn't find this to be an especially good bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location was very convenient to downtown with easy access to shopping and restaurants. Although we didn't use it, the hotel offers a shuttle service to the downtown area in the evenings. Our room was a studio queen. The room was very nice and quiet. We will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I'd avoid rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyJ-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn by Marriott. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $142 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing