We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient Location...”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is extremely convenient to downtown Charleston and for getting around to the Ashley River plantations and Folly Beach. If you care about convenience and not so much about comfort, then this is the place to stay. The room itself was not that great. The air conditioner never got the room cool, the fridge didn't keep anything cold, and the toilet ran if you didn't jiggle the handle. The breakfast ends at 9:00 which is not good for the vacationer, but since this hotel is geared for business people...that's fine. However, as a hotel geared towards the business traveler, I would expect some kind of power hub on or near the desk. No such luck. The only open outlet was near the wet bar sink. This was not convenient for plugging in a computer, cell phone, or other electronics.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susmay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    240
    67
    26
    20
See reviews for
186
203
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

First of all location was great, that is about it though. When we arrived later in the evening after 15 hours in the car we found the bathroom light to be broken. Called down stairs but there was no one to fix it till morning. Also called for extra towels (6 people in our room ) they gave us 3. There was no one to bring them to us we had to go get them ourselves. Room was not very clean mold and black hairs in the bathroom. The door would not lock behind us, they looked at us like we were crazy when we told them that. Never did get that fixed while we were there. I would not stay here again. Breakfast area not all that clean as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel is about a 10 min cab from CHS and Market St. in Charleston. The staff was very help with getting cabs and directions. The rooms do have a little wear & tear, but they were spacious and took care of our needs. Did not try the breakfast and the pool looked decent. They could use an upgrade from the SD TVs and be sure to ask for a room with water view.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stadiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken S,C.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We are longtime Marriott guests, both at hotels and condos and have been spoiled by their cleanliness, comfortable and clean bedding, and good deals. This hotel lived up to every bit of that. The employees and staff were competent, friendly, helpful and aimed to please. The complimentary breakfast was hot and good. The shuttle was a real boon to us to take us downtown free and saved us on driving in a strange city and on parking fees. We have never gone wrong sticking to the Marriott family of hotels and this one did not disappoint us. Have already recommended this one to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoboAikenS_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Hotel is clean throughout, well mainained. Super friendly and helpful staff, terrific breakfast selection and they keep the room clean! Front desk has anticipated guests' typical questions with pre-printed directions to just about everything. Free evening shuttle downtown. This is the best run hotel I've seen in a very long time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avodomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend with our 2 year-old. First impressions: the entrance, lobby and common areas were "okay" but we were definitely disappointed with the room. The decor was just average and in need of updating, but the real problem was just cleanliness. The bathroom had obviously been cleaned, but marks on the bottom of the tub remained, the toilet seat was on it's last leg, dust/dirt accumulated in the corners of the floors, hair dryer handle was dirty, phone was dirty, remote control -- dirty, the carpet was seriously worn down, and the a/c unit needed to be cleaned or needed a new filter. It wasn't "Bates Motel" bad, but just many little things that made the room feel, un-fresh. We stayed for three days and didn't suffer any ill-effects, but definitely won't return. The staff was pleasant, no complaints on their level of service, but the facility itself needs attention.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karrramello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Beware if you try to change your reservation date -- they will bill you anyway! My wife and I reserved a suite here for five nights for an anniversary, but had to change and remove the first day. I was told "no problem" when I called to change. When we arrived the entire hall stank and the room smelled worse, and the bathroom vent didn't work at all. We were exhausted so we just decided to reserve a room elsewhere (Comfort Suites in North Charleston -- GREAT!) for the rest of the stay, and crash and leave as soon as possible the next morning.

After returning home at the end of the trip we found multiple "authorized transactions" for a total of 9 nights stay at this hotel -- we only stayed one day! I called to complain and was told we were being given a credit back to our card for two nights. Huh? I let her convince me that she knew what she was doing, but I should have known better, because today we now have a charge against our card for those two nights instead of a credit.

Now our transactions are *completely* screwed up, we have been billed for two nights we didn't stay, and are awaiting finalization of a charge for FOUR MORE nights we didn't stay there. I now have to get my credit card company to intervene with disputed charges, try to get the hotel manager to fix things, and hope everything works out. And in the meantime, I'm being charged interest for THEIR screw ups!

We will never, EVER do business with Marriott or its affiliates again. The incompetence of their staff is beyond belief.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgt_rock_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing