We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night. Hotel was nice but there were several college age "kids" who somewhat took over at times. Beds were great and room was neat and clean.
Breakfast was not very good either morning. No OJ either day and lots of options just not very good! For the price of the room I expected better.
The shuttle was very nice and Stanley the driver was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    244
    67
    26
    21
See reviews for
188
205
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Clean, good location, free parking, decent rooms and great staff. No complaints. I will definitely consider staying here on my next trip to Charleston. If you can't stay right in the middle of town, this is a nice option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank trainit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed in mid-May during the Citadel and College of Charleston graduation weekend. We stayed from Thursday-Sunday. The price went from $169 to $269 starting Friday night. There were 16 of us total with either 2 or 4 to a room. Nobody had a giant complaint about the hotel or the rooms. We took advantage of the balcony on the 1st floor and the pool/Jacuzzi. Each room had really comfy beds and a sleeper sofa. The A/C was flawless in each room. We really enjoyed the location because it's less than 5 minutes from downtown which means that you don't have to worry about parking or downtown traffic. They have a convenient shuttle service that dropped us off at the North end of Market St. The elevators are the slowest things I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melainacastengera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When we checked in they warned us that our AC unit was on the loud side, which turned out to be very true. They offered to send in maintenance, which we accepted. Unfortunately, the carpets around the units were soaked, so clearly a bigger issue. They offered to move us, but they had no other king rooms available in the hotel, and we booked it months ago. I understand they can't control that, but for the cost I expected more than a free bottle of wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Nicole C,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your honest travel experience with us as well as other travelers on TripAdvisor.

It is with deep regret to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay and that we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. Our main goal is 100% guest satisfaction and obviously we were not able to acheive this for you.

When it comes to being compensated for unforunate circumstances such as this, if you booked through a third party travel site (such as Expedia, Priceline, etc) you pay them directly so we are unable to offer any type of discount off of your room rate. I would love to talk with you more about your stay and work towards providing a personal service resolution. Would you please contact me at erin.thomson@marriott.com so we can discuss this further?

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well how shall I begin? Is it over priced? Yes, by far! Over $165 p/nite. I'm a Gold Marriott Rewards member and this is not up to the standards I expect from any Marriott brand. Very slow elevators (only 2). Waited more than 5 minutes some times. Housekeeping staff sometimes took over elevators and went ahead of customers. Left things in them - long handled paint roller and dirty towel bag. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: River view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank revkjbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good afternoon revkjbriggs!

We hope all is well in sunny Florida today and that you are staying cool! Taking the time out of your day to supply us with your honest review is greatly appreciated.

Charleston is currently in our peak season, where rates are much higher. We constantly strive to provide our guests with fair pricing comparable to hotels in our area. Please remember that we provide complimentary breakfast, parking, and even internet for our guests which can add up to $40.00 or more per day at other hotels in Charleston.

Due to our unique Charleston-themed design, our lobby and breakfast areas are located one floor above our ground floor which can sometimes cause a delay in our elevators' timeliness. I will make sure our policies regarding allowing guests on elevators before employees use them are reviewed. Nothing should ever be left in the elevators and for this I am sincerely sorry.

We hope that when you return to Charleston you will give us the opportunity to show you our 100% commitment to complete guest satisfaction. In fact if you email me at erin.thomson@marriott.com, I'd love to personally coordinate your reservation. Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a good alternative if you can't afford being in downtown Charleston (which can be pricey at certain times). There is quick access to Lockwood Drive or Calhoun which gets you to anywhere downtown. Also very quick access to James Island Connector (Folly Beach) or the Ravenel Bridge to Mt Pleasant.
We were in a renovated room with a view of the marsh and Ashely River. Really lovely and surprisingly quiet. Nice bed, good pull out couch and of course the fridge, sink and micro wave. Marriott is a very consistent brand and this Springhill meets the standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was in town with friends for a Bachelor party weekend, and ended up going with SpringHill Suites. The location is great, with easy access to downtown and the nearby beaches. The price was excellent, especially compared to the rates downtown... barely a mile away. The hotel is in great condition and the room was spacious, just right for the 4 of us. Breakfast was our first stop before heading out to golf every morning. The breakfast here was much better than the typical Marriott property and the staff working the breakfast area were friendly and helpful, keeping up with the large crowd. The shuttle to downtown is really convenient. And even tho we stayed out much later than the shuttle schedule, a taxi back to the hotel only cost us 15-20$. Overall, our stay went very well and we would come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing