We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$199
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
266
255
75
29
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
255
75
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening shuttlefree shuttleshuttle serviceacross the bridgefolly beachsmall balconyhistoric districtcalifornia dreamingthe breakfast areasink areafree breakfastwould stay here againjames islandbreakfast staffminute driveashley riverfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 647 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this place for three nights; it was close enough to downtown which made for an easy commute. However the hotel itself was lacking. The breakfast was great, but there was no space to eat it. When arrived the room seemed to be stocked, however, after that we were missing fresh wash clothes and glasses; we had to request them. On the last night of our stay, the plumbing in the washroom got backed up. The front desk said they would send someone to fix it , which they did while we went out to dinner. However when we returned from dinner we were unable to unlock the door to enter our room. We had the front desk reactivite the card a few times. It turns out that the battery located in the lock had died and the they needed a special key to open the door. After waiting around for a bit, we finally got into the room, but I was not impressed. Overall the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cami_C403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lovely location on the marina. We stayed in one of the suites and nice spacious accommodation with beautiful marsh view. We booked our rooms on the same day and got very good rates. Excellent breakfast. Also liked the little outside tables next to the dining area and overlooking the boats. Easy drive to Charleston. Will definitely stay here again. We had visitors from England and they loved it. We have stayed in various locations in Charleston including right in downtown but I actually liked relaxing away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjane060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and 3 girls spent 5 nights. Very clean and friendly. Close to downtown. The breakfast was good but the space for it was very small. The room was larger than other hotels in the area at the price. It was a good value. The hot tub was scalding hot!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank run290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. They provided evening events for their guest which is not common in a chain hotel. My only complaint is the air conditioner. It seemed outdated and you were unable to set the thermostat for it to turn off. The only two settings were high and low. It had some type of timer but with no directions, it was difficult to program it. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The free shuttle to downtown was very convenient. For the price and the great service the staff provides, you can't beat it! I would stay again. The friendliness of the staff far exceeded the annoyance of the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz's Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Buzz's Y,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We truly appreciate your feedback as we are constantly striving toward complete guest satisfaction. We are very sorry to hear that you had issues with the air conditioner in your suite. Service excellence is our top priority! I will make sure to pass on your comments to our general manager in coming up with a personal service resolution. As always, we ask that guests please contact our front desk or management should any issues ever rise. We want you to feel right at home and experience the true southern hospitality that Charleston is known for!

Thanks for choosing the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We hope to welcome you back soon!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Thank you for choosing to stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We hope to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

While this hotel isn't in the heart of downtown, it is one mile away on the marina. The hotel offers a free shuttle in the evenings, which is easy to use. When we drove into the city, parking was easy and not very expensive compared to other cities ($2/hr). Room was clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Pool area is nice, plus there is ping pong, large checker board, corn hole as well. Breakfast was typical, and I felt they did a good job keeping this stocked. The hours seemed more expansive than usual (until 11am), which we appreciated. I only wish Springhill offered two queens as an option.

Room Tip: The restaurant at the marina is quite good. It is within walking distance and the setting is pleasant. It does get very crowded, but patio seating is first come first serve, which we didn't realize.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my4b0ys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear my4boys_4,

We hope you are doing well! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your travel experience with others. We truly appreciate it as we are constantly striving toward 100% guest satisfaction!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the great amenities and activities that the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview has to offer. Just to update you-- the SpringHill Suites will begin a full renovation beginning this October. And better yet? We are replacing all of our double beds to queen size beds!

We hope to welcome you back soon to see for yourself our new stylish rooms. I just know that they will be the perfect fit for you and your family! Thanks for choosing to stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We look forward to your return!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews