We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Every hotel room should be layed out like this. I watched TV while my hubby took a nap. Place is clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The marina is within steps, and it relaxing just to see the beautiful boats. Nice breakfast. Should really have a car for this hotel as nothing is really close by. All I can say is husband & I had a very peaceful good nights sleep.

Room Tip: When waiting for the elevator, please note there is only one button for both. Ask for the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenlo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 637 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were greeted warmly by hotel staff and the check-in process was quick and we were in our room within minutes. This is a nice room but lacks room to place your clothing if you are a party of two or more. There is just a small open closet and 3 very small drawers. But other than that, this was a comfortable room, with some nice amenities, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and free wi-fi. We had a view of the river which was nice. The only complaint the humidity, and the air conditioning unit just could not cope with it. Also something very small but inconvenient, our keys stopped working three different times and it required a triip back to the desk each time.. All in all it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and assigned a very nice room with a view of the Marina. Beds were comfortable and the room had a refrierator and microwave which came in handy around 5pm each day. We could watch the boats come and go and just relax. Close by was a very nice California Dreaming Restaurant within walking distance. At night the hotel provided a shuttle bus to take us downtown and dropped us off amid about 50 wonderful restaurants. Then picked us up again as late as 11:00pm. It was great not having to look for parking. We spent every night while we were there along one or two streets just walking and enjoying the nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer. We hope to see you again next time you are in Charleston! Thank you very much for choosing the SpringHill Suites by Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

While hotels are quite pricey in Charleston, for what we paid, this place was a dump. The entire room was damp and smelled of mold. When we arrived, the staff (who were exceptional), offered us a top floor room with a balcony, which was quite nice. Except the room conditioners were no where near on par for the Marriott standard. The hospitality of the staff was great, anywhere we needed to go they were never short of options or suggestions! There was a complimentary wine tasting, convenient shuttle to downtown, and the breakfast area was very clean for a busy Saturday. Unfortunately, the room did not make for a comfortable stay and will hesitate to recc'd this place to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL41267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear LL41267,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review.

In regards to the hotel, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities; in fact, I trust that you would be highly pleased with hotel's upcoming full renovation planned this fall. We recognize that there are great properties in Charleston and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome y’all back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent five days at this Marriott property while attending an intense landscape painting workshop. The class met at different sites each day, so the Ripley Point location was a perfect starting place for taking off in a different direction every morning.

It was a perfect place to relax, also, after a long day and reorganize all my gear for the next day. i Even set up my easel on the balcony to do a few touch-ups.

Back in my road warrior days (before I retired and started painting), I learned that Marriott's extended stay properties were the best bargains on the road: room to work, friendly staffs, good amenities and about the same price you'd pay for a three- or four-star downtown hotel room.

And my experience at the Downtown SpringHill Suites was similar. Very nice, helpful folks at the front desk and elsewhere. A hot breakfast, good coffee -- and a great bed.

Ripley Point is right across the Ashley River from downtown Charleston. It's a marina area with only one good restaurant -- but the hotel runs shuttles back and forth to the Historic District in the evenings. Perfect! I checked out the local oysters, shrimp and grits and she-crab soup all over downtown without having to stay IN downtown and fight the traffic.

Claude Monet would have loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Every member of the staff makes you feel welcomed at the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and having a refrigerator plus microwave comes in handy. Also, having 2 separate tvs in the room, eliminates the squabbling over what to watch on tv. Breakfast in the lobby each morning is very convenient. They have scrambled eggs, hash browns, grits, waffles as well as muffins, bagels, and cereal. Hotel is only 3-4 miles from most downtown attractions. Several days they had cookies in the lobby in the afternoon. Grab a couple if you see them. They go fast. Enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the marina. Very pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the extra amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have you back next time you are in the area!


Yours in (Southern) hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
katie.register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel gets high marks for everything! We brought in a group of 50 on a motorcoach tour and from the moment we drove onto the property we were treated as if we were the only customers they had and they were full! We were greeted by two lovely ladies in Southern attire, all our room keys and accomodations were ready and spot on, the breakfasts were great, the rooms pretty, very clean, they have activities daily that you can join in with others each day and every employee there seemed to be happy to work there. Thanks staff for a great experience, we will be back! Willis Tours of Marietta, GA

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillisTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear WillisTours,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your warm welcome and all the extra amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer! Your group was fantastic to work with and we look forward to welcoming ya'll back in the near future!

Thanks for choosing to stay with the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We appreciate you! :)


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $123 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing