We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Budget friendly, convenient hotel close to historic district.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budget friendly, convenient hotel close to historic district.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel. Its less than five minutes to historic district and a shuttle is available although I didnt require its services. Every day there is a complimentary breakfast served from 6-11. I think theres something for everyone. Also afternoon coffee, tea and cookies is offered.
All suite hotel with rooms featuring small kitchenettes and sitting area. I liked the lower lobby's sitting area with fireplace and pool area with oversized checkers game. Staff was friendly and hotel afforded most conviences including fitness center, internet and computer access, small market for food and bevs and laundry facilities.
After spending a week here during treatment at MUSC Id likely return for future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities offered. Thank you for taking the time to submit such a kind review. We hope all is going well with you, and hope to see you next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    216
    58
    26
    19
See reviews for
154
181
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My company was Hosting a Conference in Charleston for a week and we utilized this Springhill suites. Everything was great! First of all was the service..top notch with out a single complaint! We used their conference room and hospitality room and both were perfect for our needs. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the view across the harbor was great. I have stayed here multiple times before and will be back. Thanks Marriott for another great property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear RyanBass,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meeting room facilities and the gorgeous views. Thanks for choosing us for your meeting needs, and we look forward to working with you in the future!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I had not been on vacation without the kids for almost five years so when we decided to take a trip we thought we would book a nice downtown Charleston B&B. Unfortunately it was a last minute decision and a holiday weekend, so there wasn't much available. We decided to stay a little outside downtown and use the savings to eat our way around Charleston. We chose this hotel for its proximity to downtown, the free evening shuttle and the free breakfast.

The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient, as was the breakfast staff. We requested an upper room facing the marina based on prior reviews. It's not the greatest view but it didn't cost anything to ask. The room showed its age in spots but was clean. We appreciated the two televisions, one for the bedroom area and the other for the sitting area. The breakfast was the usual waffles, eggs, cereal, etc. and we didn't experience the lack of seating that other reviewers have mentioned.

The only negative experience to mention involved the shuttle. The first evening was cold and we, along with about 15 other guests, were waiting for the shuttle in the lobby when the driver drove by without stopping. The front desk called and he returned about 25 minutes later. We were upset at the time, I think because we were really hungry, but the rest of the trip the shuttle was fine and it allowed us to have some good wines and not have to worry about driving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMGator89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and for choosing to stay with us! I apologize that you ran into an issue with the shuttle. We typically do not run into any issues with the shuttle as we share it with the Residence Inn next door and it runs on such a strict schedule. I am not sure as to what happened since I am not sure which dates you stayed, but I do truly apologize for the inconvenience. I am pleased to know we made up in other ways and hope to see you back next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You are located a quick 5 minute drive to historic downtown Charleston. We had a beautiful view of the river from our room. If you are without transportation, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to downtown until 1145pm. Very clean room and they offer a nice breakfast in the morning for the guest. The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked but it was well worth what we paid for our room. The staff was very courteous and was very helpful with directions to nearby attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCM0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott with other travelers. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities offered including the complimentary shuttle and hot breakfast buffet. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here as part of a wedding party group. Never again. Admittedly, we usually stay at higher star rated hotels but this was really not a nice hotel EXCEPT for the staff who were really terrific. I expect more from a Marriott property. My son's feet were absolutely black from walking on the seemingly wet carpet and the place reeked of awful air-freshener. What were they trying to cover up? The location looks beautiful--on the water, but no close restaurants and walking to downtown just over the bridge is life threatening. Won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfFour000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very nice location on the water with a nice view of the harbor. It's not too hard to find off of the main bridges.
The room was clean and fairly large with 2 queen size beds. Lots of pillows to lounge around on during a rainy day, with a small kitchenette, containing a fridge, microwave, sink.
2 TVs was a nice touch if you love to watch TVs.
Being there over Christmas was nice with Christmas decorations around the lobby and fireplace. Because of the holiday the staff was a little sparse but they bent over backwards to make sure your needs were met.
Hats off to Stan, the shuttle driver. Without him getting around Charleston in the rain would have been very uncomfortable. He knew the city very well and responded to our calls for a pick-up in a very few minutes. Great guy.
Breakfast was great. From waffles to biscuits and gravy, what else could you want? I loved having fresh coffee all day.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a clean and comfortable room that was pretty spacious. The great advantage of staying here is that there is a shuttle to downtown between 5pm and around 11pm. The last one back to the hotel left downtown around 11.45. We took a cab back from the historic district one , which cost about $10. Some of the city tour companies will pick you up at this hotel, so make sure to ask if you book one. I'm only aware of one more hotel that offers a regular shuttle service. It is part of the same chain and nearby, but i can't remember the name.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
3.8 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing